new host  

Help us building out our sailboat project in Portimão, Algarve, Portugal

  • Bisher 30 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 16 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ============
    We are at the boat:

    21.07.-18-08. 2024
    middle of march 2025 until approximately June 2025
    ============



    We are Jeroen and Seraina, a Dutch-Swiss couple. We met in Australia 4 years ago and share a lot of travels, adventures and crazy ideas.

    2 years ago we had a project in mind to sail around the world. In the last 2 years we have worked a lot towards and for this project.
    After a long period of searching for a boat and a home that met our criteria, we have found it! She is a one-off steel bilge keel sailing sloop built in 2005. She has been neglected for a long time, hasn't seen much of the world and hasn't really been used for her purpose. So we want to give her the life she deserves which is full of adventures.
    But it is a HUGE PROJECT to get her up and running again so that we can live on her full time and be self-sufficient.

    But let's do it! She is the perfect boat for us and we love her!

    Are you excited about being part of this project?

    Everyone has different strengths and it's nice to see that when people work together they can achieve so much more than they could on their own. And besides you can have a great time together and learn from each other.

    At the moment we are still living and working in Switzerland until the end of February 2025. But in the summer we will be on the boat for 4 weeks and from March full time until it is ready. The boat is at a boatyard in Portimao, in the beautiful Portuguese Algarve. It's absolutely amazing there! <3

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We offer here in Switzerland also "couchsurfing" and use it as well when we're traveling. We just love to exchange with other people and learn from each others backgrounds, experiences and knowledge.
    When you're coming on our boat you are welcomed by a couple who is very open and interested in cultural exchange. We hope you're open as well and we can share a good time.
    We are very active and we would love to spend some fun times together exploring caves in the Algarve or climbing up a mountain or so.
    We are also motivated to share our skills and knowledge. We are also not that experienced of building out a boat but we try our best haha ;)

    Ah and we also love evenings of playing games or making music together or just chatting about life, stories and interesting things. :)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We don't really know where to start explaining where we need help, because there's so much haha ;)
    As you can see on the pictures the boat was in a very dirty and neglected condition. We already cleaned a lot and took out the moldy freezer etc. There will be still cleaning jobs but also repairing, building out things etc.
    For example we want to built outside a big sitting area with a table etc. Also we want to transform one bathroom into a workshop. Where the workshop is now in the hallway we want to build another bunk bed. Also a lot of other more boat-functional things we have to repair and/or upgrade, but we don't go too much into details here.

    But we are sure that everyone will find something to help us.
    The most important thing is that you are motivated and eager to learn new things and challenge yourself a bit :) Also, you shouldn't be afraid of getting dirty, but rather enjoy it. You should be a bit handy or just very dedicated to learning.
    We will help each other and do the work together so no one is alone and we can learn from each other and maybe develop some unknown skills about ourselves :)

    If you have some professional background in a handy job, that would be cool too. But it's not a have-to.
    Jeroen is a metal worker, which is why we really wanted a steel boat.

    Another important point is that you will never be "finished" when you are here because there will be so much work, but it's important for us that you take your free time and only work about 5 hours a day. Portimao and the surrounding is beautiful and you should explore it! :)

    So summarized: No skills required but the majority of jobs will consist of carpentry, painting, sandblasting, electrician, metal work, welding, etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are two spacious bunk-bed cabins in which each 2 people can sleep.
    When we have two individual workawayers we look that each of you has their own cabin.

    It of course all depends a bit what we're working on at the moment. But most of the time they should be ready to use. :)

    There are at the moment 3 bathrooms as well, which we find a bit too crazy. So we will be transforming one into a workshop.

    We both don't eat a lot of meat. We cook a lot with vegetables. We love to exchange ways of cooking and taste signature dishes from other people and learn from each other also with cooking. We both love cooking. The kitchen is also very spacious which is so cool! :)

    The boat is in a boatyard in Portimao, which is close to the city center. We will also have a car and probably 2 bicycles which you can use as well. And hopefully also a functional motor dinghy that we can use to cruise a bit around and explore the area by waterway.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    When we start sailing you are of course also welcome to come as a crew then along. :)

    If you have any questions, write us!

    We're looking forward to hearing from your! Cheers!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We both have unlimited data in Portugal but it would be handy if you have it as well :) We would love if you help us on the boat for approx. 5 hours a day with 2 days off a week. The rest you can work as a digital nomad ;) and having free time!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Some that are easy to handle on a boat. You can only go up the boat with a stair which pets can't go up themselves probably...

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, 2 days off

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 787728825792

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help on my off-grid land to become self-sufficient in Carlao, Portugal
Maintaining a farm house and cultivating its land in Cercal do Alentejo, Portugal