aktualisiert  

Working with horses in Potrerillos, Mendoza, Argentina

  • Argentinien
  • Bisher 605 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 01.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Mo (French Nomad traveling since 2011 - Wilderness Survival Instructor and Expedition Paramedic certified from England) and Angie (Polish Nomad- B.Sc Animal Husbandry Major in Horse care, riding, and training) and their 2 little children were traveling with horses through Argentina since July 2018 to June 2020 as a part of the project to travel from Argentina to Mexico on horseback over the course of 10 years.

    When the covid pandemic started we had to stop our expedition and wait till it blew over completely. In 2020, we bought land in Potrerillos, Mendoza province, where we plan to build an eco-friendly tourism site that will feature alternative cabanas, a restaurant, and an adventure center with a variety of outdoor sports. At the moment we have a treehouse cabin, a Mongolian yurt, a converted bus (where volunteers will be sleeping), a swimming pool, play area. As far as the animals, they are more like pets than farm animals used for work, we have 4 horses, 2 sheep, 2 chickens, 2 ducks, 5 dogs, and 2 cats. We are seeking volunteers with special skills (experienced horse riders/trainers, construction, programming, child educator etc)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We were travelers like you, we have been traveling around Argentina for 3 years, we know a lot of stories of this country which we will share with you. Living in a super tourist place in Argentina - 8 km from the Potrerillos lake, 4 km from Cacheuta hot springs, 40 km from Tupungato (wine valley - Valle de Uco). We have access to private property of 18,000 hectares of mountains, horseriding tracks, rock climbing, Motorcross tracks, MTB tracks & hiking trials. We work with locals and gauchos (once in a while they will stop by the property) then, you will have the opportunity to have cultural exchanges and maybe share local meals, etc.

    Since it's a 5-day work and you will have 2 days per week to enjoy the country/province.
    You will get to ride horses a lot, learn about horse care and training them

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need volunteers mainly for training horses and taking them out for feeding.
    YOU WILL BE TRAINED 1 OR 2 TIMES BEFORE BEING ASKED TO GO OUT ALONE. If you're an experienced rider there's really nothing complicated (we just need to show you how to use saddles we have) and after 1 day of training you should be fine, but we're here to help you for the first few days, however we won't be going out with you on the ride.

    In the morning 8am, you will feed the horses with hay and Vitamin supplements or a special diet depending on weather conditions or the current state of health. We have 4 horses currently. After that you feed the rest of animals, it normally takes 15min.
    Then you can have your breakfast and get ready for attending to the horses.
    You will have to brush the horses that you will ride and saddle them up for the ride out. There are 2 volunteers always going out together, so you will have 2 horses to prepare. At 10am you leave the terrain with horses.

    You will be walking/riding for 30 to 60 minutes from the property to find good pastures and let them feed for the day.
    Whilst leaving the terrain, we will teach you things to discipline them and train them. This training varies depending on what they are lacking in or learning. We want to eliminate bad habits, respond them to pressure, stay in line if there are 2 or more horses tagged together.

    Our Equine way: We treat our horses as peers - we feed them well and take care of their needs and they generate income to complement their expenses. The reason why we have horses is just that we love the relationship between us, but there are a lot of expenses connected with keeping horses as a pet. We rode our horses just with headcollars when we traveled and our goal is to be able to ride all our horses without bit in the mouth and responding to light pressure, but that requires regular training. We are very busy people and don't have much time for our horses at the moment.

    Once you reach the place with sufficient pasture to feed the horses, you will be unsaddling the horses and letting them graze for the day.
    Meanwhile, you will be provided with a sunshade, speakers, and books to read. You can do whatever you want in that time, as long as occasionally you watch over the horses so that they don't get tangled, or escape.

    Around 6pm you start saddling up horses again and you make your way back to the terrain.

    Some days when you want you can do half a day, meaning that around 3pm you start going back with horses to the terrain. In that case, if you come back early, you'll have to tie horses outside the terrain on ropes, so they can get as much grazing time as possible (there isn't that much grass close to the terrain that's why we want people to take them a bit further).

    SOME DAYS are exceptions when there are horse riding tours or bad weather when you wont have to take the horses out, on that days you'll be asked to do different jobs.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Polnisch: Fließend
    Tamil: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are located in a remote area, with no neighbors, scenic mountain views, yet easily accessible by the main road - 30km from Mendoza, 10km from Potrerillos. We have a modified bus where one of the bedrooms has Japanese pod-hotel style beds. This room has a double bed for couples and 2 single beds for friends traveling together. The bedroom is only shared between the volunteers but the kitchen, bathroom, shower, and dining area are shared by all. The accommodation features wood and gas heating, hot water shower. You can enjoy the swimming pool in the summer.
    Whole place is run by solar energy, so we don't have any equipment that requires heavy-electricity use. If you need to charge your phone or laptop, it's only possible during the day.
    We're in the middle of the desert and water is a big problem for us, so we ask you to save it while doing the dishes and showering.

    Basic cooking ingredients provided. Sometimes we'll cook meals all together, sometimes you'll have to cook by yourself. We are far away from any shop, so before coming up or during your days off you can stock up on any food that you'd like apart from what we offer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located right in the middle of most tourist spots Mendoza has to offer. You can easily go to Potrerillos lake, the valley of UCO, the best wines in the country offering wine tasting and winery tours, 60 minutes drive to Mount Aconcagua, the tallest summit outside Asia and the highest in all Americas. There are several adventure activities such as horseriding (in the house), kayaking, SUP, canoeing, white water rafting, rock climbing (in the house), zipline, paragliding, hot springs and resort etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our place has fiberoptic internet, disturbance-free space to work outside the required work

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yes, we welcome volunteers in campervans and our property is by the main road RN7, and a 4X4 is NOT required. 30 meters from the asphalt road.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes we accept pets, they can roam free (provided they won't eat our livery such as chickens, ducklings, lambs etc.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 787375582758

Feedback (8)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.6)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.6)

Kommunikation: (4.8)













Join our farm with several fruit trees and a vineyard in San Rafael, Mendoza, Argentina
Polyvalent volunteer on a ranch in Patagonia, Argentina