Come and help with eco-pool and enjoy nature in Cape Town, South Africa

Country

Südafrika

Bisher 66 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.03.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of four, a doctor, a teacher and two university students, living in a suburb of Cape Town. We live in an old Victorian, comfy house set in a moderately large garden of mostly indigenous plants. We are always trying to improve how eco-friendly our house is. In the past year we have focused on a filtration system for our borehole water and improving our soil for growing vegetables.

    We have previously had two sets of workaway volunteers here but we had to be offline for most of last year. Lucas and Bronwyn (the students) have been workaway volunteers since 2016 and we all love the community values of workaway.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They can learn about sustainability issues facing Capetonians. We are avid hikers and volunteers will be welcome to join us. We are also politically progressive and engage in discussions on global and local politics.
    Geordie (the teacher) spent the last thirty years as an environmental consultant and she can teach you all about wetlands and how they work during the construction of the eco-pool wetland.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are building an eco-pool. We have completed the pool and are now building the wetland filtration system around it. The work is mostly clearing roots, soil and overgrown foliage as well as placing and compacting sand and gravel layers that will make up the base of the wetland. We also need to turnover our compost heap to retrieve soil building organics. This work is quite physically taxing, especially in our Summer heat so we would suggest an early start each day to avoid the heat.

    A separate task is helping us reestablish one of our vegetable gardens and duties may include a little house work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a bedroom with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom. This means we can accommodate either a single or pair.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our house is close to cheap public transport (trains and taxis) and it is as easy to get to the beach as it is to get to the city centre or Table Mountain. It takes about 20 minutes to get there. We would love to show you some of Cape Town's hidden gems: art, culture, and nature.
    We are vegetarian so if you are a big red-meat eater you may find yourself at the local steakhouse. We do love cooking and you can expect excellent meals.

    We love having Workaway guests, but we have discovered that a 2-week stay suits us best.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 782959888532