Off grid living in a sub tropical rain forest within an intentional community.

Country

Australien

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.08.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    174

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    The most unique thing about this location is that we live in a beautiful rain-forest valley, abundant with wildlife, which includes rare and endangered species. We also have many walking trails either along the creek to the waterfall or up onto mountain ridges which offer amazing views.

    If you like bush walking without the crowds then this is for you.

    My husband Brett and I (Johanna) live in the Sub Tropical Northern Rivers area of NSW, one and a half hours west of Byron Bay, and an hour west of Nimbin. We can pick up from Nimbin or Lismore. The small town of Kyogle is our local shopping town. Kyogle is surrounded by one of the largest areas of World Heritage Rainforest.

    We have an organic vegetable garden and chickens (for eggs) which supplies most of our food. The garden requires continual upkeep but most effort is needed late winter and early spring. While I follow a mostly Paleo diet all diets can be catered for. We have a good solar system so the house can function as normal.

    Our unique property is called a Multiple Occupancy, or Intentional Community. We maintain about 10 acres within a 1000 acre property (mostly wilderness) which we share with a small group of neighbours of various age groups. We cannot see any neighbours, though may hear them in the distance from time to time. We also try to meet regularly with neighbours, so there is an opportunity to meet a diverse range of people here and to extend your stay with others if you desire.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Permaculture lifestyle. Seasonal work changes with this lifestyle. Land management includes weeding, clearing, burning of small fires in winter, building mulch heaps, planting vegetables or rainforest trees (in summer). Also includes cutting or chopping firewood in winter.
    Art projects in rainy weather, such as painting furniture, creating signs, fixing things.
    The Community. Meeting other people who live an alternative lifestyle and sharing their stories.
    The environment. Being able to walk through beautiful and diverse rainforest along the creek or dry forest on the mountain ridge tops. If you don't like steep mountain walks we can take you on a 4x4 drive In dry weather.
    Experience beautiful birds and at times other wildlife from the comfort of the veranda.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like help with land management in a sustainable way and property up keep.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English,

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a large 2 room tent which can be located in a secluded area on the block. We have a comfortable queen mattress to place in the tent. We have a community centre near by which has rustic facilities.

    We also have a spare room in the house (which may or may not be available, depending on other bookings).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can participate in local yoga classes, bush walking, bird watching/listening. You will also learn how to keep a garden growing through different seasons of the year in a sub tropical region.

    The famous township of Nimbin is nearby as is Mt Warning which are both on a must do list for travellers to this part of Australia. Lismore has a lantern festival in mid June every year. Byron Bay is one and a half hours away.

    Smokers are welcome but cannot smoke in the house, we have a comfortable veranda where people can smoke.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours.

A favourite place.
Lismore.
Toonumbar Dam. A great place on a hot day or any time really.
Mt Warning. The first part of Australia to catch the morning sun. A great climbing experience.
Kyogle



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 776177391457