Explore Dordogne while doing general handyman tasks and home help on the smallholding, France



Bisher 11 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hi I am Lindsay 53 years young and my wife is Elaine 51 years young and we are both originally from South Africa where we grew up loving the sun and outdoor active life styles. We moved 16 Years ago to the UK so we have dual passports We have 2 adult children who are both studying abroad and so we have time now to do new and exciting things. We have just invested in a lovely old farm style property set in grounds of 11 300 square meters 5km from Jumilhac la Grand in the beautiful Dordogne region and start our new journey on 1 November 2020 where we will live with our 2 cats. We would be looking for general help after Xmas around the home and garden as we want to put our own stamp on it which would include refreshing and or building onto the chicken coupe, I want to fence the perimeter of the property in order to get a dog, move the pool fence to create a larger area around the pool and repave around the pool and extend a paved area off the pool, build a new vegetable garden for next years crop, some cladding jobs like closing the sides of a car port to have a more sheltered workshop for Elaines upholstery, gardening odds and ends and even repointing the barn and old bread oven. We love entertaining and are extremely social butterflies and you will find us most evenings having a braai (bbq) or making our own pizzas but in the oven I still need to purchase for the french property as I am leaving my current one in the UK house. We will be found at the pool during summer evenings with the braai going and some refreshing beers nearby.We have a lovely gite that is totally private with its own open plan kitchen, TV room and 2 bedrooms so can accommodate 2 couples or up to 4 friends seeking an experience in rural France with 2 people who take pride in their home, love life and love to mix with like minded individuals. This will suit someone who is energetic and social with some general maintenance skills an advantage as having done some paving work or light construction would be fabulous and can take initiative in just helping out around the home. You would be part of the family and we would want to also give you an experience you will learn from forever. We speak English and Afrikaans and are going to learn French so we welcome anyone who wants to learn English or Afrikaans while we try learn your language.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will mix with 2 South Africans who have lived and experienced life both in South Africa and the UK. At the same time you could brush up on English if it’s not your first language and experience the beautiful rural life that France can offer you elain lives upholstery so you could be part of learning a new skill and gain experience in creating something new that you can be proud of. I will be hands on with you on these projects learning from you too

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    General maintenance and any building skills would be ideal as most of the projects around the property will include some form of light construction or handyman experience. I am not talking about renovating a house but certainly being able to help building as an example a chicken coupe, fencing, creating a new vegetable garden and even assist in creating a vineyard of 100 vines which requires building the trellis system and putting in some form of irrigation system from the wells to the required areas while clearing up and putting a new stamp on the property with our own touch.At he same time just being able to interact and communicate while helping out around the house is what we are looking for in a. Individual or individuals.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We have a 2 room gite with its own open plan kitchen and a separate TV room and own entrance with TV and wifi. This could be ideal for 4 friends or 2 couples sharing or on your own. The property has a lovely pool but you would be integrated as much as you want into the family

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are rural so getting around requires a car or public transport. We are 5km from jumilhac la grand with a lovely Chateau and some basic amenities but also within a nature reserve for cycling walking. We are close to some beautiful towns or villages such as Brantome, Thiviers St Yriex and just an hour away from Periguex and 1h40 from Bergerac. There are also lots of expat groups one can link into for social interactions. A trip to a Limoges is only about 40 minutes but the dordogne region as a whole offers plenty of beautiful villages and rivers for relaxation and enjoyment. We would happily transport you to a train station for day trips or include you on our trips to markets etc as we too explore the area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 769331743325