Come and help us with some DIY and gardening near Avignon, France



Bisher 304 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Costas is Greek a Graduate of Newcastle University in Marine Engineering and currently retired .Alison is British and a dentist also a graduate of Newcastle University, currently non practising but running her business in the UK. remotely . We are both divorced from our previous spouses and have 5 adult children between us who occasionally visit with their friends .They all live in London. We bought this almost abandoned chateau as a 'coup de coeur" as it is so beautiful and magical not realising the amount of work to restore and maintain.

    Alison is a keen gardener and has reclaimed the very overgrown garden but there is still a lot to do clearing overgrown shrubbery and pruning . We have done a lot but this year need to focus on repairs to the actual building and stone paths walls and general maintenance .We would never ask you do to things we don't do ourselves and would always get electrics or plumbing done professionally this is just generally fixing broken things.

    We are particularly looking for a handyman who could do a bit of tiling and help me re pointing as the old walls need some attention and also someone not shy of gardening and clearing overgrown areas and doesn't mind sweeping up around the pool and tidying up. Its a fantastic garden but 6 years of neglect before we came here has taken its toll. We can take 3 workaways at a time Everyone can have their own room and own bathroom and we provide 3 delicious meals daily with a strong emphasis on local ingredients. Previous workaways have all had a good time and are well looked after !

    It is a great area for walking, cycling ( near Mont Ventoux for those who want a challenge ) In May and June we host a cookery course here called A taste of Provence so you can learn french cuisine !. its a labour of love but we defy anyone not to fall under its spell ! There s actually lots to do in free time including sunbathing and swimming in the pool ! if you can hop on buses nearby Uzes is rather lovely - quintessential charming French market town and of course Avignon has the Palais des Papes and the famous bridge. Arles is only an hour away and well worth a visit culturally and those enjoying outdoors you can kayak under Pont du Gard, lots of great walking and cycling - Mont Ventoux for the fitter ones - and otherwise a very lovely heated pool in which to cool off ! Winter months theres walking , cycling and exploring to do
    come and see ............

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are located in the Rhones Valley with many vineyards cultural and historic cities around us . Uzes, Avignon, Arles , St Remy , Les Beaux , Pont de Gard , Montpellier , Nimes , Marseille just to name few strong attraction places for cultural learning etc . Fascinating to stay in a genuine 16th century castle . The old village is very beautiful and tranquil. Avignon is 20 minutes away by car or bus and has the Palais des Papes and numerous galleries and places of historical interest. our workdays have lots of time to explore and all have loved the variety of cultural places and the outstanding natural beauty of this wonderful area. In the village no-one speaks English so its a great opportunity to learn French !!!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    gardening - clearing overgrown areas

    joinery and repairs. The chateau has old window frames which need adjusting and painting and some window sills are rotten and need replacing.. we provide all materials and tools but just need some help from someone who knows what they are doing :))There is always repointing to do as the old walls need constant attention. Some decorating with the owner working alongside !

    general tidying up, sweeping around the pool, taking out rubbish

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Greek: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Will be residing either within the chateau or in one of the external independent cottages within the chateau grounds depending on whether we have guests. workaways have their own room with private bathroom regardless. We will provide 3 home cooked meals a day - we hold cookery courses here so the food is generally good :)) - all locally sourced and can adapt to dietary requirements , veggie etc

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Ideally helpers should have a driving license so they can either hire a car for maximum freedom of movement .Please advise your driving experience . Kayaking at Pont du Gard Cycling Mont Ventoux

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (3.7)

Kommunikation: (3.7)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 766394174853