Volunteers to assist with buildng, organic gardening and house care in Busselton, Australia.

Country

Australien

Bisher 233 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 27 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live with my 18 year old daughter Alice. Her sister Billie has moved to away to study at University this year. Their older sister Rose lives in a neighboring town with their mum.. Alice and I live on an eight acre property in the forest. Our home which I hand built sits high on a hill looking out over the bush to the ocean. It is very beautiful, quiet and secluded but also within walking distance (3 km) of our town or you can ride one of our old bikes.

    I am a wood craftsman and make furniture from my home based workshop. I have 31 years of experience in the building and construction industry. I am multi skilled in many areas of business, construction and commerce.

    We have two small organic vegetable gardens and a small orchard for our home use . We also keep chickens for meat and eggs. I love cooking and use mostly organic, unprocessed foods. We have a very self reliant and sustainable lifestyle in which we make caring for our environment our highest priority.

    I have spent the last 3 years building a second house on our property. It's made of rock (from our land) bricks and timber. I am doing all of the work myself with the help of volunteers. And with your help the house will be complete in perhaps just one more year! Yeah!

    Volunteers will stay in our home and there is a choice of rooms. Both are large, private and comfortable

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love to engage with other cultures by travelling or by bringing people from other cultures in to share with us. Our focus in home life has to been to become as independent, self-sustaining and low consuming as we can achieve.
    Volunteers will learn much about self-sustainability and building.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Mostly I just need another pair of hands to work with me. All the really heavy and hard work is done. The new building site is on our property and about 100 metres from our home. No skills are required as I will teach the volunteer any skills needed. Male or female and any age.

    I like to work in the mornings and have a siesta in the afternoon or go to the beach! You will have most afternoons and all weekends to explore this beautiful coast. There will be some house cleaning, gardening and property maintenance work to be done.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    For spring, summer or autumn there is a beautiful Japanese teahouse that sits out over a small ornamental pond, very private, quiet and secluded. It is a short 30 metre walk down a bush pathway from our house where you will share our meals and company.
    In our home there is a really nice and very large bedroom downstairs with big verandah, great views and privacy. There is also another lovely bedroom upstairs with us.
    The choice is yours.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The South West is a very beautiful part of Australia and we have a very comfortable Mediterranean type climate with warm summers and mild winters. Our home is very well positioned as a base to go off and explore the region.

    We live in a world class surfing area with magnificent coastline. Dunsborough is a modern, small coastal tourist town with a permanent population of 4000 which swells to about 18,000 in summer. There is lot's to see and do. We have a fantastic natural environment and a long, long summer!

    My family loves camping, fishing, hiking and the beaches. We have special places we go that the tourists never see but you can share with us!

    Our worker will get the opportunity to learn about house building, organic gardening and sustainable living. I am multi skilled and have much that I can share with you.

    There is public transport in Dunsborough. There a re taxis, our bike or a 15 minute walk to get to town, I am happy to allow volunteers to use my old work vehicle to use locally if I feel comfortable about their safety.

    Tourism is the major industry of this region. There is plenty of work available in the area all year but especially in Spring and summer. All previous volunteers who have wanted paid work have found it easy to find employment

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 mornings per week - about 20 hours each week






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 758189864874