Come and help with our building and glamping project in riverside woodland in lovely Suffolk!

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 352 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.05.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 23 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Dan (44), Lucy (42), Jim (37) and Harry (6) , a small family with our friend seeking help with a big project! We are extending and renovating our house in the wood and by the river in sunny Suffolk (4 miles from historic Bury St Edmunds, half an hour to Cambridge and about 1.5 hours to London). We also have woodland to maintain and hopefully tree houses to build (we're hoping to get permission to start a glamping site in the wood). Predominantly we need people with construction experience and can offer a small wage on top of the normal Workaway arrangement for plumbing, carpentry etc. However we also love to share a cultural experience if you are seeking to help with general tasks such as gardening, fencing etc.

    We work during the week in term time (Lucy teaches languages at a school; Dan and Jim work at a charity in London) and Harry is at school, so you'll have to be alright on your own at times, but we're a friendly bunch for family meals in the evening. Although we feel fairly remote and quiet here, we're actually very near to some lovely cities and towns - in addition to Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds, Norwich is within easy distance. The countryside is pretty here though, and we're near enough to some nice pubs and plenty of places to eat. Lucy speaks French and Spanish and we're very happy to help with you practicing your English skills as well as wanting to learn about other cultures ourselves.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    French and Spanish are spoken here but we're also very happy to help with learning English. Culturally, the area is rich in Anglo-Saxon history, having some of the most historic sites in the UK nearby. Theatres, cinemas, music venues and seaside attractions (the coast is about an hour away), are all available. London is reasonably close on the train. We're very interested in developing a more sustainable and organic lifestyle and so would enjoy chats about those subjects too.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some of the help can be reasonably hard but also varied - general labouring, construction and trades such as carpentry, bricklaying, plumbing skills will all be very useful. But we're also looking for help with getting our 4 acres of woodland and gardens into shape - things like fencing, planting, cutting and also building structures like treehouses for the glamping! Fundamentally we have a lot to do but it's rewarding and fun too.

    We offer hosting for a minimum of two weeks with the agreement that either you or we can end the arrangement if it's not working out. Our ideal Workawayers have been flexible, easy to get on with, keen to fit into our family life, hardworking yet relaxed in the evenings, interested and interesting. We have made friends for life with Workaways who buy in to the ethos of a fair two-way exchange and who are as interested in learning about us as we are about them. If this sounds like you, we'd love to hear from you!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    On-site private caravan with double bed (possibility to host others in single beds too).

    We provide cereal, bread and jam for you to make your own breakfast; soup and a roll for you to heat up for lunch (with leftovers from dinner for snacks); and a hot or cold dinner which we all share together. You are welcome to buy additional food for yourselves in our local town. We welcome offers to cook the evening meal and and will buy the food for you - we are always excited to learn about your cuisine.

    The house is basic but functional at the moment - clean and warm but not pretty! That's why we're renovating it!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a bus service into the local town and railway station. Time off can be spent here (reading by the river perhaps, or strolling in the nearby parkland), in Bury St Edmunds (a lovely town with a historic abbey, cathedral etc), or further afield by train (for day trips to places like Cambridge, Ely, Norwich and London).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 748982891471