Living self-sufficiently and in harmony with nature in Munster, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 164 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    2

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are living off the grid on a 10 acre piece of land, called Tir na Beo. It is surrounded by the mountains of West Cork. There are different kinds of areas on different heights on the Tir na Beo. Woodland areas, bog land bits and various types of little fields and gardens. We separated the land in areas for living, for gardening, just for nature and there is also a section for guest, camping and events. The Gougane Barra National Park and the Lee Valley with the beautiful chain of lakes forming Lough Allua are close by. This is a very rural area and the nearest village is about 5 km away. The distance to the west coast is about 25 km.

    History, Philosophy, Life and Plans:
    We are inspired by people who live and work on their own land self-sufficient and in harmony with nature. Being more healthy and happy. Eating organic food is also essential for our way of living. To us this kind of life is perfect to reveal our potentials.
    We would like to share and enjoy this land and this beautiful area with other people in a scattered community setting with sense for individuality and privacy. The vision is to create a circle of people with a focus on the same essentials in life. This kind of vision will be also based on the benefit from each other on various levels.

    We are in a very early state of our community set up. Long-term residents at the moment are Torsten and John. Eventually we also want to inspire like-minded people to settle down on some potential other locations close by to create a larger scale of community in the long run.

    Torsten got this land about 8 years ago and this is the third year that we are living permanently on it. It was a long process to get to this point and we can feel the difference within this total commitment. We are more connected to the land, more settled in life and getting more back in return. This strong connection is very inspiring and we are gaining new ideas for the present and future. Every year developing the land and the infrastructure is transforming it more and more into the land of our dreams.


    Meanwhile there is a various number of ongoing personal processes. We are discovering our natural rhythms and pace for example. On a daily base, over the entire year and further.
    An ongoing project is to bring the Irish native plants back in place as much as possible. Starting in specific areas, gathering and planting native plants from the surroundings, while learning more about properties, potential food and medicine. It is also exciting to combine all that slowly step by step with principles of permaculture. We are at the beginning now and there is a lot to learn and to improve.


    A plan for the near future is to use parts of the land to provide a natural enjoyable ambience for certain events, treatments, workshops, outdoor education/activities etc. or just to let accommodation, camping and relaxation.

    Once the basic setup on the land is finished another focus will be alternative energy systems.



    Volunteer Accommodation, Facilities and more:

    The communal kitchen and social space is a wooden round house with a large fire-pit featured in the middle. Our rustic facilities include also an outdoor kitchen with seating and an open fire. We have a functional clean compost toilet system, fresh clean well water and a stone-pool next to a stream on the land. There are also two stone framed wells and 3 ponds.
    Your sleeping accommodation will be a roundhouse with a stove, a bell tent or a caravan.
    Apart from that we do have another caravan where John lives. Also 3 big tunnel-shape constructions. Torsten lives in one of them together with his 2 dogs. There is no house and no main electricity or main water on the land. We are using generators to charge batteries, for power-tools and welding. We also have a digger and a dumper at our disposal to help us with the heavy ground and stone work.

    If you require to charge your phone or to have internet connection you can use our bikes to cycle about 7 km to the next village. There will be an electricity plug and Wifi available

    Lifestyle in the Summer:
    The weather including daylight and darkness has a big impact on our life in general. We learned to accept and appreciate each kind of condition. Weather is the main aspect to consider every day. Especially gathering and preparing wood and doing the stockpiling is an important part of our routine to secure dry firewood every day. If there is too much rain we are not working outdoors. Usually we switch towards indoor work or spend time around the fire in the roundhouse by chilling out, talking, cooking, playing darts, board games or reading books or we just disappear individually into our private spaces.. We do have a little library, as well as some musical instruments (guitar, bongos and a didgeridoo).
    A usual morning routine would be that the first one up bakes bread for everybody in a frying pan on the open fire. Cooking is part of the job for helpers and there are lots of nice recipes to cook on the fire.
    We have Canadian canoes and trips on the lakes can be arranged. We also have 2 bicycles, which can be used for trips anytime.

    We will take up to 4 volunteers for a minimum stay of 4 weeks as long as all of us are happy with that.


    What do we expect from you:

    We are mainly looking for people who are approaching a simple life close to nature and with like-minded people around. Therefor gathering experiences and inspirations or already looking for the right place to settle down.

    And so it would be not enough specific motivation for us if you mainly just want to get to know new countries, cultures and different lifestyles in general. Also just to improve your English language skills and getting to now nice new people would be not enough. You should be also deeper motivated than to match the required internship for your study while having other plans of life.

    You are more than welcome to involve yourself on various levels and different areas. That could be new ideas or inspirations as much as physical work or other focus areas. The Tir na Beo could be also just an inspiring and useful area to specify yourself over time in different areas.
    If, after a while, your experience here on the Tir na Beo would turn into a long-term living perspective we could give you a specific area to your own disposal and would change arrangements.


    About us:

    Torsten:
    I was born in 1967 in Hamburg, Germany. After school I did different kinds of training and studies. To me, the most important outcome of those times was to find out more about who I am and what I am looking for in life. An on-going part of my life was always the joy of traveling and being outdoors in nature. After living in different alternative settings for many years I was ready to focus consistently on this beautiful piece of land in the mountains of Cork. Finally I found a home here, where I really want to be and stay. To live so close to nature makes me feel more intensive, more creative and curious. It has an ongoing positive influence to my personality and my path of live. In this days my biggest passion is to bring the native Irish plants back in place, restoring nature and slowly learning how to combine that with permaculture. Gathering knowledge and awareness about plants, food and medicine.

    John:aka `heyoka spirit`
    I am the co creator of this off grid project. I came to this project with over 25 years experience having lived in and constructed Tipi`s and Yurts for myself personally in community settings and commercially. I spent of number of years living horse drawn where i traveled to many towns and villages across Ireland, experiencing many alternatives communities and ways of living. I have a lot of experience working with horses and I have a passion for gardening, and we will be aiming for food self sufficiency in the future
    These days I would describe myself as a survivalist prepper, I`m passionate about all off grid living techniques from alternative power to long term food storage.
    I am always happy to share and demonstrate some of the skills I have acquired over the years, and I look forward even more to learning new skills from different peoples perspectives that I`m certain helpers will bring to the project. In the past I was only able to spend short amounts of time on the project but this year with less outside commitments I`m looking forward too being more hands on.expect to learn and use every day bush craft fire lighting skills,cooking with raw ingredients and over an open fire and as I`m looking to get back into tipi manufacture pole gathering and preparing as well as cover sewing.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are more a part of subculture in Ireland. Not part of the common traditional Irish way of living in this days. This subculture exist since the 60´s, when lots of hippies and alternative people came to Ireland. Since then it was growing and establishing as a part of culture in this country. Even when there are different variations of alternative ways of life. That involves Irish people and lots of people from different countries. Mainly from Europe. We belonging to the growing number of alternative people in Ireland, who want to live off-grid in a sustainable way, involving nature and permaculture as much as possible. And also being very critical towards the common western society way of life. This alternative way of life is a kind of worldwide culture and not linked to a particular country.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help we need depends from the particular projects, seasons and priorities we are approaching at certain times throughout the year. And so this is just a general overview over potential work for you:

    Gardening, Planting, Maintenance, Clearing Areas, Woodwork (Firewood, Construction/Building), Stonework (making paths & steps, dry stonewall Building), Cooking, native plantgathering and planting to restore areas. There is also a variation of potential help on top of this physical areas.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Bell Tent, Yurt, Tipi , Roundhouse or Caravan

    Vegetarian food will be fully provided, 7 days a week. Mainly vegatable and salat from the garden. Depending on the season.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 748217685274