Daintree Rainforest food garden, Australia



Bisher 593 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  • Beschreibung


    Hello my name is Toon and I live in the Daintree Rainforest on a residential 1 hectare property situated just north of Cow Bay and 20km south of Cape Tribulation. I have a little rainforest home nestled on a hill with new and expanding gardens spread below and beside my dwelling. My food forest was started in 2013 with the assistance of some awesome Volunteers

    most of the work is in the garden. There is always digging, weeding, mulching and mowing to be done.
    Volunteers get cuts, spikes and blisters and can walk away with hardened calloused hands. (which they seem to be quite proud of). They sweat and are sometimes tired to the bone. Australia is hot, the tropics is hotter and I set a good pace, the work can be challenging, most rise to the occasion and shine. Take note, the work at times is tough beside me and it may really test some of you. I ask for four good hours a day.
    There is a small variety of work clothes. I supply gumboots, gloves and sun hats

    This year I am building a carport. I am looking for strong boys who will work with me concreteing and building. You do not need any experience just a good attitude and lots of energy, you will learn a lot here if you want to.

    I live a very low footprint existence. I have few electronics, no TV, no phone. All phones, computers and other electronic equipment remain off whilst in my home. It is a chance for you to have a break from electronica and connect with something different. I am restricted in power with a small solar system. I live a simple clean and quiet existence, visitors do the same.
    My domestic water source is from the roof and is chemical free and clean. There are no chemicals in my home and few in my life. I ask that you ‘consider’ abstaining from your array of personal chemicals whilst here as well. It could be a time to cleanse and it always adds to your experience. NO sunscreens are permitted in my home, in my garden and in my creeks.
    We wear appropriate clothing in the sun.

    The meals are largely vegetable based. I serve three good hearty and healthy meals per day. In between the meals there is often fruit salad or banana smoothies (a volunteer favourite). My unique food forest is organic, minerally enriched, energising, cleansing and building. I live mostly from my garden and local area. I try to put as much tropical fruit and vegetables that are in season on the table. I hunt, my hunted game is the only meat I eat. Once every coupe of weeks we eat wild pork or kangaroo cooked in and on the fire-pit. I do not like to eat much meat but at times my body tells me I need a little. The time in between is all vegetarian. I think all the vegetarians and vegans who have stayed have chosen to eat a little of my clean fire cooked game.

    Standard agreement, five days work, two days on me. If you survive the first week then on your two days I leave you to do your own thing, go exploring to the places of your interest or sit back on the veranda and watch the odd ship go by. The local swimming spot is just minutes down the road. The jungle escapades start at the gate, if you choose to embrace what is available.
    If you stay a couple of weeks then we start adventuring together. There are a number of things we can do and I may take you to locations that few locals and no tourists will ever see. The longer you stay the bigger the adventures. Read the reviews,
    Boys and Girls who are keen can use my archery equipment and many have been on a pig hunt and taken away a good set of trophy hooks.

    I have a sense of humour and don’t take life to seriously. I like light hearted people who can laugh and chill in between work. Boys have stayed for three months, girls have stayed for three months, some have returned a few times now.
    I like those who practice yoga or Ti Chi and who join me or teach me more. I also like to meditate to sooth my soul. I often play music loud when we are working but enjoy the evenings quiet. We watch stars, read and listen to the jungle, until some silly rainforest bird squarks, then it is back to splendored silence.
    If you do not wish to join me in the evening yoga stretch then please do not apply

    There is no alcohol nor smoking nor drugs permitted on my property.
    Occasionally though a little wine is spilt. I often take volunteers to our local Cricket Club on a Friday night to meet the locals and to have a couple of drinks with my mates.

    There is a bus service that runs from Cairns (Trans North) it can drop you off close to my home at the Cowbay Hotel.
    My communications are self limited. I am slack, dysfunctional and forgetful. I often go deep into my forest for days at a time. It can take me a week to access internet, so if you are interested please be patient for my response. Writing me and telling me you are in Cairns and willing to start the next day will seldom work.

    travel safe


  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    It is a chance to escape from all that real world stuff and chill out, connect with self, connect with earth and mabey connect with me. Switching off the electronics for a while has had a profound effect upon many of my guests.
    Some helpers come here to challenge themselves and push themselves physically and or mentally.
    Many Volunteers have joined me and completed a three day complete fast whilst here,
    I have been damaged in life, this lifestyle I engage keeps me going, keeps me healthy, the foundation of my existence is hard work. Come here ready to embrace something a little different. a step back in time, a step back to a simple life.
    I like to play hard so if you have an adventure spirit and are good to me I can show you a forest few get to see and take you on adventures no other host in this region can provide.
    I like to rest hard as well. I live my life with a calm mind, a few have come here seeking to calm things down
    again read the reviews

    I can teach you a few things about tropical gardening, but not in the four work hours. If I did that I would be charging for organic tropical gardening courses. I also massage and can teach you some simple massage techniques.

  • Arbeit


    There is lots of garden work and this can be physically demanding. The garden is my gymnasium, and I pump it up.
    The routine jobs are weeding mulching, mowing. These are the jobs most volunteers start with.
    Tasks may also include digging, harvesting, planting, nursery work, watering, building and painting. I am also keen for carpentry, electrical, motor mechanic and sewing skills. However everyone here usually starts with manual labour.
    The Garden is taking second place to construction this year, so we will still be working in the garden but emphasis is on construction of carport and pig fences

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The house is basically an open veranda over looking food gardens, the property is shrouded by forest, with neighbours houses calling distance away. Birds fly inside during the day and little micro bats fly inside at night. Kids have found small snakes in their bathroom bags when they forget to zip them shut. Sometimes a friendly python hanging from the rafters may watch you shower . Helpers have secure private rooms with mosquito nets downstairs and your utilities are downstairs also.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have a few house rules, it takes guidance and instruction weaving you around an unusual environment and living conditions. No electronics, I like to keep this crazy world away from my healthy happy healing home. I enjoy a low cognitive load. Be gentle on me and my possessions.

    You will need a torch, no phones volunteers so you will need a torch. They cost five dollars at a hardware or camping shop. Many kids wish they had got a headlight torch once here as there are many night things to do and being hands free at night is essential.
    At times you can turn your phones on and take photos and videos. If you need to ring Mum once a week then that is fine,

    If you are a person who carries fanciful expectations in your head, then expect this
    A challenging but possibly rewarding time

    read the reviews

    those who bring me photos of their life and home (not on your phone, I cannot see the tiny screens) and those who bring me a USB stick with music on it get very special rewards from me.

    looking forward to meeting more amazing workaway volunteers

    travel safe


  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4 hours a day 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 737978185496