Renovation of old house in a pretty spectacular area of Auvergne, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.07.2019

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,
    I'm a Brit living in France. I moved here after time overseas in the 90's, and have been renovating French properties ever since. Initially in Brittany and Normandy, I moved down to the Auvergne in 2012, and find myself loving it. The area is great for those looking to get into the outdoors. The walking is excellent, the cycling challenging. The food here is very good, and the people are great. It's a calm, almost forgotten part of France, and well worth a visit...

    At the moment there are two places I'm involved with, and help would be appreciated with both. One is a finished renovation which is now a weekly rental. On change over days there is always something to do in the garden, as well as the cleaning and prep for the next visitors. This house is in a pretty wonderful, almost dramatic location, and the garden is small and a pleasure to work in. If this house isn't let, there is a chance that we would spend a little time here as I'd like to get the back wall pointed.

    Half an hour away, in the town of Murat, is the main project. This is a very different beast, and is really at the initial stages of work. This is not for the faint hearted. At the moment I am reinforcing joists. Then, there will be a floor to lay, staircases to move, followed by the usual suspects.....stud work, insulation, electrics, plumbing and plasterboard.I'm reasonably good at explaining how to do things, and quite patient, but obviously somebody with at least some basic skills, and of a physical nature, is needed. Building sites are noisy, messy and quite hard, so be aware.

    Accommodation, too, is more basic in Murat. There is a bedroom for workawayers, and a bathroom, and a stove for cooking. There is internet and phone......I'll do what I can for your comforts, but it's a very basic set up.

    Time would be divided between the two places, ideally more time being spent at Murat.

    This is a beautiful place to be, but I do not want to 'sell' this opportunity........I'm looking for someone, or two people, with a bit of enthusiasm.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As above......the principal work here is renovation, and so somebody who ain't scared of a little physical work is needed. It might work, if you are a couple, and the light/heavy duties could be shared..

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, spanish(a little), Japanese (a little)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Bedroom at Le Vernet.....and that's a lovely place to stay. It's tucked away in the mountains, though......4km to nearest shop....
    Bedroom at Murat. This is much more basic, but Murat is a little gem of a town. Shops and bars and restaurants, etc...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Walking, fishing, cycling, skiing........loads of outdoors stuff going on. Beautiful mountain scenery. Parasailing, anyone??

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 733687819913