Hilf mit Permakultur, ökologischem Landbau, Waldgarten in Devon, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 340 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    79.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Permaculture, organic, forest garden area.
    I planted fruit trees and pips in a field some years ago, the pips are now huge and productive apple trees and several were cleared to make way for a large polytunnel four years ago. The polytunnel is also huge and productive forest with great diversity. The aim of the whole is not for comercial ends, but a mini eco system producing a rich and varied supply of food plants leading towards self sufficiency. The setting is on the edge of the river Lemon in what some might consider an area of rampantly chaotic land, and others would see it as gloriously chemical- free wild flower and wildlife area. Last year I found a hibernating dormouse that survived the winter. There is an earth - built (cob) hut and a caravan.

    .The aims are to produce vegetables, fruit, herbs, and medicinal plants, many perennially, and to tame the landscape just a bit, along with some building and maintenance of existing structures and grounds. The methods are generally low tech using other people's discarded materials- often 'repurposed' sometimes experimental, most of them work well. There are lots of different types of jobs, so plenty to choose from, and maybe useful to see an operational outfit.
    Upcoming jobs- some weeding and planting. Cleaning the polytunnel walls, addressing the irrigation pipe work issues, (needs patience and logic!), path maintenance and repair, compost construction, muck moving(!) general tidying, ....etc!
    I have a small dog.
    There is no TV.
    Good wi-fi
    The land is four miles away from my home.
    This Workaway is most suited to those who are sociable but able to operate independently or with cooperation and are particularly interested in growing plants, forest gardening, non intensive food production from a feral place. It is not suitable for those who only want to visit the area and practice English. Three weeks is a good length of time to spend here. I do not host for less than that.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The project is already a good example of a working, off grid system with some unique solutions for addressing irrigation, ventilation and thermal mass to compensate for variations in temperature.
    There are interesting and unusual food plants under cultivation- along with some more usual ones growing in a permaculture chemical free way. The system is "no dig" and many plants self perpetuate, that is they sow their own seeds under direction! There are also more conventional areas of growing to produce food, taking the best methods for particular crops.
    There is an earth building which was initially made using no bought material. It has achieved planning permission and has now been standing for over 20 years.
    I dry, freeze and pickle foods, and have interesting methods I would share.
    The small town has music and there is an active arts centre that is community run. There are a few choice cafes-some with music.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Gardening, some permaculture experience would be helpful. Initiative and some knowledge of plants will make you a more useful Workawayer!
    Ability to lift, and be generally quite fit. Able to work on projects by yourself with initial instructions.

    Building and maintenance work is quite easy to pick up the skills needed, but might be messy, depending on job.
    Some cooking and routine house cleaning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I live in a three storey town house in a small Devon town on the edge of Dartmoor. There is a double bedroom available for your use, another single room if needed-( usually the sitting room) a shared bathroom with bath and separate good shower, and additional loo. There is a washing machine for your use by agreement, (no more than 2x per week, and please ask.)
    The house is four miles from the land. On working days I will drive you there and we work together.
    Usually I will cook the evening meal on days that we are working, ( it is always a treat if you do it sometimes) and we will eat together. breakfast, usually a very grand muesli with fresh fruit and grains, is made cooperatively.
    Lunch, also made cooperatively, is generally plant-based vegan. On days off SOME of the food could be supplied by me (by negotiation) for you to make your own meals. If we eat together we will all do the dishes and clear up, with the help of the dishwasher,
    If you are doing your own meal you will leave the kitchen tidily.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The town and land are on the edge of Dartmoor, so a short drive to marvellous walks and scenery. A slightly longer drive will take you to the South Devon beaches. There is a bus service to Plymouth, Exeter, Totnes and other towns and villages. (The busses don't run in the evening! ) The town is renowned for food, and there are pubs. There are also venues with live music that was often playing. (It might happen again!)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 729911113231