Help with my horses, building and gardening in the Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 496 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.10.2022

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi everyone!

    At the end of 2019 I bought an old abandoned farm in the South West Algarve.
    My goal is to live as to live as self sufficient as possible, make the land as productive as possible and hopefully one day sell fruit and vegetables.

    Therefore me and the people I am living with are arranging vegetable gardens. At the moment we are growing a good amount of greens, onions, melons, tomatoes, cucumbers, courgetes, squashes, aubergines, peppers, herbs like basil and so on.
    We are constantly trying to improve our learnings in the permaculture field in comparison with the garden techniques of the locals.

    Currently I am rebuilding the ruin and aim to create a beautiful and rustic house. Maybe you are a carpenter or builder? I could really need help with that.

    I am living in a nice caravan with a small garden infront on a plateau of this property.
    I like to share this space sometimes for meals but in general need my own space like anyone else.

    In general there are always people living with me- mostly they are friends or workawayers who become friends.
    So you will never be alone here. Last months we have been 8 people, but things are constantly changing.

    We like to eat together or have a barbecue every then and now. But some of the people are working or studying- so there is no real boredom.

    With us are living five horses, five dogs and four cats- all staying with their individuals.
    One of the tasks is taking care of the horses- feeding, watering and collection the manure for compost.

    We regularly go out for rides around the hills or the nearby-lake (barragem de bravura)- there is a spare horse you could ride on if you would like to join.

    We built mountain bike tracks around the land- which you can enjoy riding.
    The nearby beaches offer nice surfing opportunities or cafés and restaurants.

    The property is located between the surf beaches of the West coast, Aljezur, Lagos and Marmelete, just outside a little village with 2 cafes and the famous pizza party nearby. Other than the village, and surrounding countryside it is fairly isolated.

    Aljezur as the closest town has different shops, organic markets, local farmersmarkets, cafés, restaurants, yoga shalas and so one.

    There is a nice conscious movement in this area- you can connect with people and join ecstatic dances, cacao ceremonies or similiar events.
    Or maybe you just want to enjoy the hiking trails of the costa vincentina?

    There are endless opportunities. We don't have public transport close to where we live. Ideally you will have your own transport or like to hitchhike- which can be easilly down around here.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    With us you can easily learn about the off-grid life in portugal. We are connected to the portuguese locals and neighbours- so you will get an experience of the traditional living here in the rural countryside as well.

    Join us learning from our garden and our aim to fulfill the permaculture dream. As well as the daily tasks of arranging and maintaining the off-grid life and taking care of our animals.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The tasks depend on the time of the year. Following things need help:

    Horse Training
    Gardening
    Growing vegetables
    Feeding horses and general horse care
    Tree planting
    Building
    Carpentry
    Picking medronho berries
    Helping in the vineyard
    Cooking
    Building mountain bike tracks and a horse track
    Fencing
    Forestry
    Making the caravan nice

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would love to learn more Portuguese.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Ideally you can park your own van in our field. It is also possible to put a tent in a hidden corner of the land -or what fits for you.
    We have a simple room in my house that i am currently renovating.
    So because the project is quite new I dont have great shower and toilet facilities so you need to be happy with basic facilities.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Lots of nice beaches 20mins drive away, local towns, mountain hikes and many social events nearby. Traditional portuguese living, conscious events

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We love people to come with your own van.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4hrs with food included or 2hrs if you want to buy your own food

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 725232446865