aktualisiert  

New project on old log house, growing organic vegatables and forraging berries and mushrooms in North Karelia, Finland

  • Bisher 359 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 9 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Mick 45 carpenter from Ireland, I have two kids Leo 10 and Luna 7 years(8 in July) they live with their mother very close by, so you will be seeing them around.
    I live in the countryside in North Karelia 20 km from Joensuu city center.
    We had a big project of building a natural, straw bale insulated roundhouse, that is now finished and my kids are happily living there.
    I live next door to the fields of Pjotr's (Leo and Luna's grandad's) organic vegetable farm and there are four families which cooperate with growing our food there.
    I like to live a simple life in the countryside, close to nature and growing most of our own food. In season we pick lots of mushrooms and berries for preserving.
    You will be sharing my farm house which needs lots of work. Where I"m living is a 500 meter walk through the forest to the vegetable field which has a nice little lake to swim in, and there is another bigger lake just across road from the house.
    Last Autumn I did new drainage work around the house to fix a damp cellar (its now dry) and the next big project is building a new roof on the barn, using round wood poles from the forest. Some of the downstairs floors in the house need to be taken up and redone at some stage.
    There is no running water in the house which means carrying in drinking and washing water.
    I work part time away from home so people happy to be sometimes independent would be great. Or you can of course join me at work! Which is renovating a 200 year old log manor house.
    If you have interest in crafting, natural building, working with hand tools, organic vegetable growing, being in nature, following natural seasonal cycles, berry picking, mushroom picking, getting or staying out of the rat race I'm sure we will get along.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn how to provide yourself with a healthy, beautiful soulful shelter, which you will not need a thirty year bank loan for! Experience living more simply using local food and resources.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am looking for people with a keen interest in crafts/hand work or an interest in gathering berries in season and planting, harvesting and processing vegetables.
    The tasks will be varied over the length of the project, but will include peeling trees for building wood, general carpentry, roofing, general help such as collecting firewood, digging and moving earth, preparing the garden and many other things.
    I have learned from the last years that the longer people stay the better it works out for all involved, and am hoping to have people for a minimum of one month.

    I am looking for helpers for a few different kind of jobs, here I will try to describe them as well as possible so that you know what to expect. Please read the descriptions well.

    Helping with building work on the house, doing some carpentry type projects, clay work, painting. The other time you would be getting building materials ready, tidying up the area etc. You should have some experience of using hand tools and a bonus if you are not afraid of heights! (3-5 meters).

    Green fingered people who are happy to get their hands and feet in the soil! Growing many different vegetables, herbs and salads in our communal garden. I would also love to get some more berries growing in the house garden this Summer.

    Longer stay 5 or 6 months.
    Someone with a keen interest in building could work with me I will teach everything I can about our building techniques, using roundwood, clay plastering, strawbale building etc. but probably mostly we end up doing carpentry work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Finnish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are two bedrooms available in my traditional Finnish farm house. We eat mostly vegan food. We have all food together, simple, local wholesome mostly organic food.
    For the Summer camping is another option.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Free time: we live by two lakes to swim in, we can give you bicycles to go for a cycle and you can cycle to Joensuu 20km, there is a restaurant in the local village! You can do berry and mushroom picking later in the summer, walks in the woods, we have regular sauna.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    must be under voice control.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 722448694749

Feedback (5)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Creating a permaculture smallholding in the pine forests of Kiila, southwest Finland
Peaceful life in Finnish countryside in Sammatti, Finland