Puppy, chickens, household chores and family cooking in the countryside! West Cork / Lackanashinnagh, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 176 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Caro and Nick here! We met in 2010 during our graduate school years, have lived in San Francisco, Boston, the western German city of Trier, Berlin and County Cork, got married in Denmark in the summer of 2014, and have been hosting scores of friends, family and couch surfers for the past several years. It’s been a wild ride and we have enjoyed meeting every person who has set foot through our threshold (please sign our guestbook before you leave!). We are very creative people and share a love of food, people, animals, art and travel while at the same time have committed ourselves to confronting and engaging in work against society’s worst tendencies.

    Caro, a passionate lifelong traveler and teacher of languages and culture, has just finished her PhD in English and Film Studies (fighting racism with popular media-based education) at University College Cork. In addition to her teaching and research schedule, she bakes up an absolute storm of cakes and pastries, is learning the subtle craft of smashing the living daylights out of the drums, runs like an approaching tornado and is putting in the hours to forge ahead with our independent entrepreneurial project which seeks to build a network of qualified cultural mediators who can interface with immigrants and reduce the burden of adapting to a new and complicated administrative culture.

    Nick undertakes a number of projects in order to satisfy the begging creative force that cries from within, including photography, writing, a lot of music, and savory and preserving culinary arts. He also leads the charge on the fermentation front, having built home-brewing systems and designing amazing beers wherever we happen to be living.

    We moved to southern Ireland in November 2015 to an adorable white house overlooking a verdant valley just west of Cork city. Our ‘townsland’ is called ‘the hill of the foxes’, and we enjoy the benefit of a peaceful country life only a half hour from Cork City and a few hours drive to overwhelmingly attractive locations such as the beaches of Inchydoney, the Beara Peninsula, Killarney, Nowen Hills and so many more.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our workawayers will benefit in many ways and:

    • Learn about rural life in beautiful southwestern Ireland
    • Learn how to a 1000 things at the same time
    • Develop your culinary expertise and repertoire (we have loads of books and are constantly learning!)
    • Learn and practice a different language (English, German)
    • Meet locals and internationals in the area
    • Learn how to brew beer

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have decided to focus our efforts (and yours!) on the following:

    Day-to-day tasks like:
    • help with preparing meals at our home: cooking and baking (while we very much enjoy cooking and baking, currently, we don't have much time to do so, plus clean, plus work, so any help is welcome! Thus, knowing how to cook is definitely essential if you want to stay with us!)
    • keeping the kitchen clean and in working order
    • we are really looking for people who are confident to take matters into their own hands and who know when and what to cook, when and how to clean, tidy up, help out, laugh with us, feed the chickens etc (e.g. we don't have a lot of rules but one is to not go to bed before all the dishes are done!)
    • taking care of our 3 lovely chickens and looking after our 9-month old puppy Jupiter.

    NOTE:
    You really need to be a dog lover, if you want to stay with us because Jupiter is a full family member and very much involved in everything we do! :-)

    We are not looking for long-term workawayers as we travel so much and are hardly ever there for a month at a time ourselves. So, generally, we would invite you to stay with us for 1-3 weeks and if it really works out well, we can maybe discuss and add another week or 2 to your stay; but we are not looking for workawayers to stay 2-3 months.

    Also, since we have gotten a lot of request that have (sadly) shown us that people didn't read our profile, please include the word BABOON in your request to show you have read it!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German, French, Spanish and some Dutch

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer you your own private room with at least a partial wardrobe, warm blankets and fresh towels. The downstairs bathroom has a walk-in shower, which we will be sharing (timed with the oil-powered heater). We prepare fresh and share our meals, so we would normally ask you to contribute your own perspective in the kitchen. We have a lot of lactose-free-friendly options on hand and are well-versed in gluten-free as well, and without question, always good coffee.

    We also now have 4 beautiful chickens so we have free-range, organic Lackanashinnagh eggs on hand for breakfast every morning :-)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Caro just finished her PhD at UCC and Nick usually works in Cork, so outside your work schedule, the day is yours; we are flexible in how you want to divide your work and play time. The main caveat is that we have only one car which we take into the city almost every morning. If you have your own car, then you’re free to explore everything the wild west has to offer (and we can give you many, many pointers and guidebooks and resources). Otherwise, neighborhood walks or jogs on sunny days are recommended, or spending time exploring Cork city and its many opportunities and kicking back with us in the evening. We also have a PS4 and a couple of games, so there’s that or a couple good books for when it’s completely raining sideways.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible, talk to us)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 717854365121