Stay in the beautiful countryside and help with the garden and house in Ørbæk, Denmark

  • Dänemark
  • Bisher 215 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 27 Mai 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    A few helping hands are always needed as we have a huge garden to maintain. So come with lots of good energy to the countryside of Fynen and help us with different types of gardening work. We also have a lot of hens and a couple cats that need attention.

    For four generations our family has been living at this beautiful spot in Denmark. The ones living here now are Ole (husband and father) and Merlên (wife) , with occasional visits from Jonathan, Clara and Katinka (the "kids").

    Ole ("the man of the house") is 55 years old, was educated in agruiculture and owned his own farms for over a decade. He now works as a landscaper and in bioenergy and is all crazy about playing as well as watching football (soccer). Merlên (his wife) is a polyglot voiceactor/world traveller and tour director who has lived and worked in over 30 cities across the globe, spanning 4 continents and both hemispheres. She likes to learn the local folklore, dance, cuisine, music, etc. There is a piano in the house which you are welcome to use. And if you have a guitar, bring it! If you like to sing and/or dance, even better! Like to exercise? You'll fit right in. Jonathan is a runner who loves to ski, to travel, is studying for his Masters in Journalism, and works in Copenhagen. Clara is studying to be a physical therapist, and enjoys travelling, practising yoga and dancing in her spare time. She spent a year living in South America and enjoys speaking Spanish, and is now in Brazil for a few months more. Katinka is 22 years old and studies theatre (acting). She also enjoys travelling, be it alone or with a friend or two. She is currently travelling in South America but will be returning home next month. The kids each have their own flats in the city, but they come home often to spend a day or two with us.

    We are a family who has a lot of fun together and enjoys each other's company.. Hopefully you will take part in some of this! :-) We laugh a lot and find the humour in pretty much anything.

    However, we are all busy studying and working during the daytime so you also have to be prepared to stay alone in the house. Therefore, it might be a good idea to participate here as a couple/friends. You would have to enjoy the solitude of your own company during the day, and be a self-starter, or else come here as a couple so you do not get lonely.

    IMPORTANT NOTICE: We are NOT micro-managers and we do NOT keep tabs on you. We are out working until 4 or 5pm. If you see something that needs doing, simply do it. If you see things are getting dusty, then do some cleaning. See a spill? Wipe it up! We are all kind people in this household, and we observe and help each other. The house is an old house and needs a lot of attention and repairs, but it is clean, cozy, and has its own charm and character. If you like interior decorating, we welcome your ideas! Also for exterior spaces too.

    We are looking for 20-24 hours per week, and you would manage your own time and adjust your own schedules according to weather conditions and so on. You will pretty much be trusted to make your own decisions. We will show and teach you all that needs to be done, and what priorities are. If you have an idea for a project or on how to improve something, then tell us about it. If you are hungry and we are at work, simply fix yourself a meal. If thirsty, get yourself a drink. We have things in the pantry and in the fridge... you are welcome to cook if you like cooking. :-) Remember that most of us are vegetarians, so do not expect us to have a ton of meat in the freezer (though there is some). During the season, a lot of the fruits and vegatables will be from our garden.
    We would prefer to host non-smokers and couples. Solo travellers are also welcome, as long as you are an independent, motivated, self-starter who is ok with spending weekday afternoons on your own. We would be able to do work together with you on weekends and after coming home from work, so your "weekends" might sometimes be during the week. The sun sets very late in Denmark during the summer months, which is nice.
    That all said, we wish for everyone to enjoy their stay in Denmark and experience "hygge," to explore the region, to laugh with us, and to have fun.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you need some time off from the big cities and want to experience the calmness and quietness of the countryside of Denmark, this is the place to come visit.
    Here you will be able to have a relaxed time and enjoy the nature and surroundings. You will most likely also get a wider knowledge of gardening work and the different plants.
    In addition, we will gladly tell and show you some of the Danish culture and history. As Denmark is quite small it will be easy for you to go off and experience some of the beautiful castles, cities or maybe even dip into the sea. We are close to a bus stop, so you are able to visit other nearly areas.

  • Arbeit


    The help needed will mainly be in the garden and outside but could also be some cleaning inside.
    - maintaining the vegetable garden
    - cutting and pruning the plants
    - mowing the lawns
    - Taking care of the animals (2 cats and some hens)
    - painting the house (outside or inside)
    -carpentry and building (building fences, shelves, making repairs...)
    - cooking

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Danish: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Japanisch: Fließend
    Russisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Tagalog: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You will have a room for yourself with everything you need, including high-speed internet connection. The bathroom is shared with whomever is in the house. In the daytime, except weekends, normally most of us will be out of the house. In the early evenings we will be home and you can eat dinner with us. Note that the sun stays up during the summer months, so it is still light out past 10pm. Most meals will be vegetarian as Clara, Katinka, and Merlên do not eat meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    From Ørbæk town you can take the bus to some of the bigger cities around Fyn. If you want to go visit Jutland or Zealand you can either go by bus or train, but then you would most likely need a few more days. So it is quite easy to get around Denmark - but also a bit expensive in the long run.
    If you wound like to go somewhere near Ørbæk it is also possible that you can borrow a bicycle from us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have excellent WiFi... with optic fiber cables (hard-wired) to the house.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is plenty of parking space, but not to hook up with electricity. However, you are of course welcome to sleep in the house during your stay.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 713254285462

Feedback (4)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Experience true Danish Hygge and help me with projects and maintenance, on a bridged island, Langeland, Southern Denmark
Help with needed for in and outside of house in Charlottelund, Denmark