Teach English at a little community school on an island in La Colorada, El Salvador

Country

El Salvador

Bisher 48 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi Workawayer, I was once you on this website looking for ways to volunteer in exchange for t•r•a•v•e•l. I can assure you, I understand the ups and downs of this lifestyle. My name is Maggie, but you can always call me friend.

    Through my 5+ year journey of traveling planet Earth, I found this sweet little nugget of an island in El Salvador, and my wandering spirit was anchored instantly. Isla Tasajera is boarded by Río Lempa with a dense mangrove forest on one side and the Pacific ocean with waves ideal for strong surfers and swimmers alike, a guaranteed good time!

    I first found this island in 2018, and since then I have been on a whirlwind journey transitioning my entire life from the U.S. to this patch of sand. I fell in love with the community, nature, and the tranquility of island life. I've learned to love the heat, the lack of internet, and the authenticity of learning a new language. I came to the island with the intention to do something good, to leave the island better than how I found it...and I expect that from you.

    The climate is always sunny, hot, and tropical. The rainy season is typically from June until October, which provides a delightful freshness (and extra mosquitos). There are a couple pupusarias/restaurants, a few tiendas with basic necessities, and a few hundred families just living their lives. This is not an enormous tourist location and we like it that way. Recently, much to my surprise, I happened to fall in love with a local fisherman and our new multi-cultural family is expanding in June 2022. So, now we need your help more than ever!

    With that intention to be a do-gooder, I have funded a learning center alongside the help of the community La Colorada. It's a little school, but it was a big project with lots of cooperation. During the building years, the volunteers and I have had English lessons (here, there, and everywhere), where I've learned Spanish myself.

    The school has been operating solely on a volunteer teacher basis and is not funded or affiliated with any organization or religion. It is privately owned by my husband and me on land that was donated. English classes are generally held Monday-Friday for about two hours per day. The teacher is in charge, we won't micro-manage you, I want you to feel at peace and free to instruct how you desire. If you wish to teach additional classes, please let me know as the students might also be interested in yoga, music, arts, cooking, computer/tech, etc. On average we have about 15-20 students per day, with ages ranging from 5 years old to 50, classes are offered completely free. Language learning is for all ages and all economies. The best part about being the teacher here is the accommodation, you will have your own private (dare I say it?) island "luxury" living situation at the school. Remember, I've been a Workawayer, I understand what a good night's sleep can do! No degree in teaching is needed (I believe we teach simply as leading by example). However, ESL teachers (or those with an education degree) will be given first priority. For those who are not formally trained teachers, I do require that you speak both English and Spanish efficiently, as you are the primary teacher of the classroom and will most likely teach alone or with minimal help. Additionally, I cannot provide daily meals, but a small daily stipend can be given food. This we will privately discuss.

    My family and I live in a neighboring community, La Tasajera. After your initial training and intro days here I can visit you as often or as little as you prefer, we are only a 10 minute 4-wheeler ride away. I want you to be comfortable, while also offering you the wholesome, cultural experience this tiny little isla has to offer. Don't let the fact it's El Salvador scare you, you are welcome here and appreciated by each family you'll meet.

    Mucho gusto!
    - Maggie and Javier

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As soon as you step foot on the boat to take the 15-minute ride to the island, you have just stepped back in time. It's a slow-paced experience where horse and carriage trot by and small-talk about the heat at the tienda window is just all a part of it. The idea of wifi isn't here and the internet can only be found on the beach and near to large trees. Here you learn to live life at the moment, you don't text Maria to ask if you can come over - you simply just go over. The majority of the families are fishermen who live simple and happy, I feel we could all learn a lot from a fisherman.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Let's begin by acknowledging that nothing is set in stone, we're never stuck, and "tranquilo" is a way of life. With that said, here are a few things we would expect from our volunteer teachers (with degree/ESL or not).

    -Teach a two-hour English class for students of all ages and learning types, Monday-Friday usually in the afternoon.
    -Write lesson plans and keep attendance, allow yourself to be creative.
    -Maintaining the school, keeping it orderly, and sweeping at least once a week. This also means the kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom.
    -Offer a nighttime English study session once/twice a week for our adults-only group.
    -Cooking your own breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Or visiting local restaurants/pupusarias.
    -Washing your own laundry, or paying a local to wash it for you.
    -Keep communication open between us! Keep it real.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    All I know is that I know nothing.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The school offers MUCHO for the volunteer teacher, such as a private living situation - your own fully-functional kitchen (with fresh running water and cooking essentials), a large concrete shower and large water tank, a composting toilet bathroom, oversized hammock with a lending library and little garden, plus a private bedroom with a full-sized Serta mattress, fluffy pillows, efficient fan, and clean linens. All this is just for you!
    *Reminder, you will be cooking for yourself and paying for your own food (with a food stipend.)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a small expat/traveler hostel/organic farm across the sandy dirt road that welcomes you with open arms and invites you to swim at their river access (a small beach and wooden dock) and you can practice your tight rope walking skills or have fun with trampoline, there's also a spot for a campfire and conversation, plus a lot more.

    If you want to visit the beach, it's about a 40-minute walk (or a $3 car ride), and it's worth every step. You'll most likely have the entire beach to yourself with an occasional passing of horses or cows. You're safe to camp sleep on the beach if you wish, it's a spectacular way to see the stars!

    The locals offer a variety of boat tours, from canoe trips to going out at sea! I've even heard of women offering cooking lessons, from how to make tortillas to seafood dishes sure to make your mouth water.

    You'll be provided with all this information and more, including phone number to call for a car/boat/transport. Usually, it's about $5 for the boat to the island from La Puntilla and $3 for a car to take you between Tasajera and La Colorada.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs are welcome, but keep in mind here the cultural perspective of a pet dog is probably different than yours - respect the locals.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 688281664589