Come help me prep the garden for winter, and stay in my beautiful lakeside log home in Caycuse, Canada

  • Bisher 288 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 Feb. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ===================
    Starting in spring/late winter 2024 our team will start a few various construction projects, including a timber frame outdoor kitchen.
    ===================


    My name is Bryce (32, M) and I live in a beautiful log home surrounded by the temperate rain forests of Vancouver Island. In my opinion, I live in one of the most beautiful areas in the entire world. The air is very clean, the drinking water is amazing, the lake is crystal clear, and the forests are full of magic. The property is situated on 5 acres of forest and is only a 5 minute walk to a beautiful private beach on Cowichan Lake. There's many trails to explore either on foot or on our 4x4 ATV. The property also has a custom wood fired sauna and ice plunge that can be enjoyed whenever you like.

    Starting in spring/late winter 2024 our team will start a few various construction projects, including a timber frame outdoor kitchen.

    We are always looking for folks with a passion for DIY projects, art installations, painting, or various woodworking ideas. We're also currently seeking a semi long term member who would like to experience a Canadian summer with us and stay for 1-4 months. Ideally someone who energetically connects and wants a longer opportunity. For the right person we may have a paid position who would help us with cleaning our cabin during tourist season, please reach out and inquire. This would ideally be someone who wants to stay at least 1 month, but ideally all summer. We're very, very reasonable and respectful of your time and energy.

    We're currently closed for the winter season but will continue to review new applications for next season where we will start accepting new Workaway guests for February 15.

    Who am I? My name is Bryce Williams and i'm originally from Halifax, Nova Scotia, but moved to Vancouver Island 6 years ago. Some of my passions are: Hiking & trail running, Surfing, Music, Dance & movement, Qi Gong, Yoga, Reading, Technology, Wood working, Gardening, and Cooking. I have a long history of traveling and I love meeting other like minded travellers to share stories and tales from all over the world. I love to cook with local in season ingredients and connect with local farmers to purchase my goods. I live a heath focused lifestyle and enjoy getting up early to connect with myself through meditation, Qi Gong, and various forms of movement. I'm also very passionate about new emerging technologies and how to navigate the new digital age we find ourselves entering.

    If you're curious about what opportunities we have available, just reach out and say hello! Looking forward to chatting with you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I would love to incorporate language learning into this energy exchange where possible. I'm currently learning Spanish and can help with your English if you like. I'm capable to teach you about our local areas heritage, including the long history of our First Nations who tended this land long before I arrived. I can teach you about our local species of plants, trees, mushrooms, and would be happy to teach you about the digital information revolution that's underway as we speak. I love sharing information and I know we can learn a lot from each other, no matter how long it is that you stay.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    My main desire would be to find someone with a passion for woodworking, gardening and permaculture, cleaning (summer months), trail building in the forest, and general maintenance around the property . With that said, whatever you enjoy doing is likely something I could use help with.

    What's most important to me is that this is a good energy exchange for both parties and we both take away from this experience. I would love to connect via a video call before hand to make sure that we can help each other achieve our goals and have our needs met.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I really like Spanish culture and will learn this language over the coming few years.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    For the right person(s), this is an opportunity of a lifetime to spend time in one of the most amazing locations in all of Canada. You would have your own clean private bedroom with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The property is 18km down a dirt road from Honeymoon Bay, so the closest restaurant is about 25 minutes drive from the property. Although I love going into town on weekends to explore, check out the markets, and meet up with friends, I typically like to create higher quality meals at home. You will be free to roam and explore whenever you like, but I typically only go into town once a week.

    Having your own vehicle would be a benefit but if not I would be open to picking you up and offering weekly trips to either town or adventurous locations off the beaten path. There's endless beautiful places to explore out here.

    If you're here helping for a few hours a day, I'm happy to feed you high quality food in exchange for your time and energy. I eat both plants and animals from farmers who i've been fortunate enough to hug and shake hands with. I can accommodate whatever dietary requirements you like, but I do cook and eat high quality beef from my friend Simones farm. If you're vegan and do not like the consumption of meat, maybe this is not the best fit for you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located 1 hour and 45 mins from Victoria and 1 hour 30 mins from the Nanaimo ferry. The property is located at the gates of Vancouver Islands old growth forests and some of the largest trees in the entire world. Some things you can do in your spare time include: Hiking and exploring the forests, swimming at the lake, going surfing around the Juan De Fuca (1.5 hrs), We do have Starlink satelite internet so watching films on the projector is always fun, relaxing in the sauna, reading by the fire, and hanging out with my awesome friends and sharing stories and song by the backyard fire pit.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Although our property does not have cellular reception, we do have high speed internet provided by Starlink Satellite. The speeds are great and I have had multiple people working full time online from the house over the last 2 years, including myself.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have ample space to park a camper van or small trailer. We had a 28 foot trailer at the house last winter without any issues.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    This is be on a case by case basis. If your animal is okay with other dogs, humas, and cats, then it's a go. If they get mad, bark, and bite, it's a no go. Please reach out to me and we can determine if it's a fit.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 684886444624

Feedback (12)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.9)















Spring garden yard and house maintenance on the Vancouver island Victoria, BC, Canada
Fishing lodge operating during the summer months in Hakai Pass, BC, Canada