Help me in the house and garden and enjoy the bush whilst being close enough to Melbourne, in Warrandyte



Bisher 398 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    If you help me around the home and enjoy spending meaningful time with children, you can wake up to rainbow coloured birds outside your window, but live so close to Melbourne you can enjoy the best of two worlds.

    UPDATE: I am currently looking for someone that’d be happy to help for three days in the middle of the week(rather than 5) and wants to stay for at least 4 weeks. Everyone else can still write me, please, but you have the best chances if you can stay longer :)

    I moved to Australia 10 years ago, after backpacking and falling in love with the people and culture of Australia.
    Whilst traveling, I was welcomed to stay in peoples' homes almost every night, often by people I had only met that same day. I was extremely lucky and want to show travellers the same generousity I was shown.

    Whilst having small children I can’t travel around as much as before, but this is a great opportunity to learn about different cultures, hear people’s stories and make connections with people from all over the world, whilst staying at home to nurture and bring up my children to be curious about how other people live.

    We live in a lovely little house in Warrandyte, in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne. There is lots of nature around us, the Yarra River is a short walk away and the township of Warrandyte is famous for its community spirit and it’s green living so close to the city. My three children are still very small (3,7&8 years old) and enjoy playing outside as much as possible. The older two climb trees, build cubbies, and do lots of bike riding when they aren't in school or kindergarden.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am a migrant myself, so I somewhat do have an objective view on Australian culture and know what to love about it and what is different from the European culture I grew up with. Where we live, one can really enjoy the amazing natural nature of Victoria on the one side and experience the culture of Melbourne on the other.
    The children are raised bilingual (German and English) and I would love for them to learn songs in other languages too. We love food from all over the world and I'm happy to connect you with other people in my community and around Australia.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    UPDATE: I am currently looking for someone that’d be happy to help looking after the littlest for three days in the middle of the week(rather than 5) and wants to stay for at least 4 weeks.

    I would love to have some help around the house, with laundry, maybe cooking (we are vegetarians), general maintenance and possibly even babysitting. I know that whoever comes here has something to offer and contribute towards a nice time everybody can enjoy.
    We have had someone who was really good at making cookies with the children, someone who was amazing with timber, so he build a raised gardenbed, and someone who helped me fix all the children's clothes. Someone else knew amazing stories and had the children sitting there listening so I could catch up on sleep and yet another really liked the monotony of washing dishes-they said they could think really well whilst doing it...

    I would expect 4-max.5 hours of help a day, 5 days a week. But we could find a way to make it work for all of us, ie. maybe a "long" day for a day "off" etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The room is the biggest and brightest space in the house, with a queen sized bed in it, a wardrobe, a desk and a wall full of bookshelves, full of English and German books you are welcome to borrow. There is enough bedding for two people.
    We provide three meals a day (vegetarian and organic where possible), but ask that you eat with us to avoid the children getting confused about mealtimes etc., however you are welcome to take food into your room or when you go out on adventures.
    The guest room has a separate entry into the garden, but is connected to the main house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have had lots of aupairs and visitors from overseas in the last few years, so we are quite experienced in hosting people and making them feel welcomed.
    In your free time you can rest from all that travelling, if need be, or come and go as it pleases you, without waking someone up, after a night out.
    It is up to you how much time you would like to spend with us as a family and how much time you want to spend exploring Melbourne. You can also go bushwalking in the Warrandyte state park, swim in the river or sit in the sun in the garden or in one of the cafe’s in Warrandyte.
    The bus takes 45-50 min into Melbourne, it runs all night on the weekends and the bus stop is 7min walking distance from our home.

    I don’t have wifi here but you are welcome to use my hotspot to check emails, public transport or for keeping in contact with family&friends. The library is 10 min away and they have computers with internet for job searches etc. All cafes have free wifi.

    Our three children are still very small (3,6&8). It is important for us to keep their connection with nature alive and to foster a sense of wonder about the world in them. They don't have any screen time, so we ask you to use your devices, including you mobile phone, in your room only. In the hours you are working please don’t use your mobile at all, but be present.

    We ask you to be an adult, clean up after yourself and use common sense in all your endeavors so as to make it safe and enjoyable for everybody to be here.
    We are looking forward to meeting you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 682344133941