Explore a stunning corner of Midi Pyrenees in a beautiful house with a warm and welcoming family, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 39 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a fun and friendly family of four (Lotte, Nick and our two girls) living in a beautiful, fully renovated farmhouse in the Gers, SW France, one of the most beautiful parts of the country. We are Brits but moved here a few years ago after living and working all round the world (the US, Turkey, London, Hong Kong among others) in international development, communications and journalism. Our girls are 5 and 3 and are bundles of fun and energy. We enjoy exploring the region (and its food and wines), all things outdoors, throwing parties and socializing with friends and generally thinking up and executing projects around the house and garden. Our renovated 1840s farmhouse is about 2km from a lively market town, about 20 minutes from the region's main city, Auch, 1.5 hours from Toulouse, and an hour or so from the Pyrenees. We have a garden of about 4 hectares, a large heated pool, and are surrounded on all sides by fields and beautiful views. A car is available to guests. Nearest airports are Lourdes/Tarbes and Toulouse Blagnac.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The Gers (old Gascony) is an amazing and beautiful region to explore. It's a great place to learn French (while living with an English-speaking family) because people are friendly and life is relaxed. The region has unique cuisine and wines, so it's great for foodies. We are about an hour from the Pyrenees and pretty much on the Santiago de Compostelle route, so lots of great walking. It's a rural area but local towns and villages are always busy with markets, fetes, and festivals. Apart from after school childcare the work schedule would be completely flexible allowing lots of time for adventure.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are three areas we'd love to get help with. Our old farmhouse was fully renovated to a high standard a few years ago but we are planning to add some colour to the walls throughout and would like some help with wallpaper/painting and decorating. Second, we have a garden of nearly 4 hectares and are always looking for projects to improve it eg adding irrigation, creating new flowerbeds, planting trees and for Spring 2020 putting in an organic vegetable garden! We'd love to have help with this particularly in Spring and Autumn when there's a lot of general upkeep to do. These areas of work will be our priority for the coming months.

    We also have two delightful little girls of five and three so it would be great to have someone who can help entertain them (without TV!), after school and at weekends and holidays. The arrangement might suit a couple or friends travelling together who could do decorating/gardening + childcare but we're pretty flexible.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have just renovated a large and beautiful section of the house to a very high standard including a bedroom with double bed and nice views over surrounding fields, a mezzanine area (with double sofabed), brand new bathroom (with shower but baths are available in the 4 other bathrooms). As there are two double beds available (in the bedroom and mezzanine) the arrangement would suit a couple or a pair of friends.

    Join breakfast with the family (eggs, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, veg smoothies etc) or help yourself.
    We are both usually home for lunch and prepare either something cooked or salads or sandwiches. Or we'll all go out to a local restaurant.
    Cooked dinner with the family. We tend to all like different food so often go with a buffet/smorgasbord approach for meals and you'll probably have a range of options. Or you can prepare food yourself.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It's a very rural area so not great for people looking for wild nightlife! We live 2km from a market town which has a busy market on Mondays and quite a few bars and restaurants. There are lots of lovely little towns and villages to explore including Marciac (which has a world-class jazz festival every Summer) about 30 minutes away, Auch (the regional capital with lots to do and see) about 20 minutes away, Lupiac (birthplace of D'Artagnan). There are loads of great restaurants and vineyards scattered around the towns and villages. The mountains are about an hour away where you have Lourdes and lovely towns, villages and hiking - it's easy to cross into Spain. Toulouse is about 1.5 hours away. The Basque coast is about 2.5 hours away with beautiful places to visit such as St Jean de Luz, Biarritz and San Sebastian. Public transport isn't great, but we have two cars one of which is insured for all drivers and will be available to workaways.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 673446637785