Please help us rebuild our homestead hobby farm after the hurricane damage in Northwest Florida, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 32 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    86.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My husband and I have a 40 acre farm in northwest Florida, 40 minutes from Panama City. We experienced major damage from Hurricane Michael and for the past two years have been trying to put things back together. My husband Bob works a full time job in Panama City and I stay home to care for the farm and oversee my granddaughter's education, so progress is slow. We desire to learn and build a more self reliant lifestyle and love to share our vision and experience with others. On our farm we raise all types of animals: milk goats, cows, horses, chickens, sheep, geese, turkeys and quail. We have three farm dogs as well. We garden organically with a goal to one day grow vegetables in succession year round. We have recently acquired fish to begin building an aquaponics system of gardening in addition to traditional, in ground, square foot gardening. We grow everything from heirloom seeds. Our farm has an apiary with anywhere between 10 -30 beehives and we can always use help with many aspects of beekeeping. That being said, if you have severe allergic reactions to bee stings, this may not be the best fit for you - or bring an epipen :) Helping with bees is not mandatory! Springtime is so busy here with gardening, beekeeping, and baby goats and lambs being born and bottle fed we can hardly keep up! Unfortunately, there is as much to do fixing and repairing barns, fences and living areas from the hurricane as there are farm chores, but, as busy as we are, we love this lifestyle and hope that you will too!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are located 40 miles from Panama City Beach - the world's most beautiful beaches! My husband drives in to work a 10 hour day 4 days a week so rides will be available. In town there is a trolley system to help you navigate. Within 5 minutes from our home you can hike the Florida trail and also nearby is a beautiful creek with crystal clear springs where you can swim, canoe and kayak. The creek feeds into a lake where we enjoy boating and water sports. Marianna Caverns is located 35 minutes from our home.

    On our farm there is the potential to learn a variety of skills. My husband is gifted with many building skills: plumbing, electrical, mechanical, framing and detail work and desires to impart his knowledge to interested learners. He also is well versed in things such as : aviation, politics, thermodynamics, electrical power production and storage, reloading and firearm safety and many other interests. Other dreams we have include putting in our own well, making biodiesel, repairing our Pontoon boat, building a dam, working with solar power and rebuilding our greenhouse. At this point in time, depending on the time of year and weather, we stay busy with gardening, animal husbandry, beekeeping and dairy products. We make homemade goat milk soap, goat cheese, yogurt and kefir. I also love scrapbooking and would very much enjoy sharing my passion with others

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are needing help piling and burning downed wood, fixing fences, rebuilding damaged structures, gardening, general farm cleanup, sorting and organizing barn and household items, and a myriad of other farm chores from feeding animals to raking pens to beekeeping if desired. There is plenty of diversity here to choose from! We want to provide a pleasant experience and understand that most people do better helping with something that they enjoy. We expect our visitors to be willing to put forth effort to help us, and we will work together to find a schedule that is mutually beneficial and agreeable to all. This is a non smoking place. I posted pictures of the damage caused by the hurricane. It looks daunting but we will be working on this little by little and as time allows.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have 32 ft motor home with all amenities: double bed and a pullout couch, kitchen, dining room slide out, bathroom with a shower and AC/Heat . We also have primitive camping areas around the farm or under a (recently built) pole barn for shelter. One of our building projects is to restore a 3 bedroom mobile home, damaged by the hurricane to one day provide more housing for Workawayers.
    We will provide meals so that you will not go hungry! I try to prepare healthy meals for my family and friends - and except for dietary restrictions that I am unable to meet, I will keep you well fed. We keep a Biblical kosher so there will be no pork products, shellfish, or certain types of fish, but there is always an abundance of fresh milk, honey and eggs on the farm :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a rural area about 40 minutes from town, but there is a small grocery store, gas station, post office, restaurant and Dollar General less than 5 miles from here. During certain times of the year we get quite a lot of rain so rubber rain boots may be helpful and because of the possibility of snakes we recommend work boots.
    We have canoes and a kayak for your use
    Our swimming pool and deck (WIFI) is available at all times
    We will try to be very accommodating so that you enjoy your experience both at the farm and in the surrounding area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 672771824726