Get involved in green projects, childcare help and more in Almere, Netherlands



Bisher 784 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 13 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Tom, Financial cöordinator from a national charity supporting children in Dutch refugee camps and Amal, a founding member of a charity dedicated to helping the survival of refugee communities, promoting the talents and work opportunities for people from diverse cultures and faiths - spearheading about 40 different projects around Health & Social Care, Art and Culture, Architecture and Permaculture and Green Technology.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We work to improve the needs of refugee and migrant communities, we act and do this practically, but we also reflect and in that way constant learning is going on. So challenging yourself applies to both practical improvisations and creation, as much as the analyses of what you will be experiencing. Almere is a city with 150 different nationalities and so learning and dealing with different communication styles is an important part of our work. Connecting different generations is another aspect, offering possibilities.

    Many WorkAwayers are shocked about the injustice and inequality and racism that the people asking for our support experience.... the romantic tales about a tolerant country do not match the harsh reality of those standing on the edge of society. Anyhow, we do not see ourselves as victims, but we are building- step by step- a new reality, joined by people committed to equal rights and justice.
    Many WorkAwyers have stayed longer than originally intended since they also find a sense of fulfilment and enjoyment to make a real difference.
    Most WorkAwayers remain in contact or even visit regularly,
    so in that sense coming to stay with us, will mean joining a community of people, which offers you and others a permanent place to be welcome, an equal part of a whole.

  • Arbeit


    We are a family of 6, but our oldest son Amin (23) has moved out for university study. This leaves a gap of ẗhe oldest" and having "adopted" a number of young refugee's and au pairs in the past, we are used to an open and outgoing family climate, in which our two daughters Zara (9) and Yasmin (16) and our foster child Lutshen (11) is growing up.

    Your primary tasks involve quality time with Zara and to a lesser extend Yasmin & Lutshen. Whilst we as parents may be busy attending the never-ending needs of the refugee and wider community, our children need you to assist us in taking care of them with creativity, patience and initiative in the loving care for them and their needs. This involves school runs; driving them to clubs etc., cooking and light housework.

    Apart from that, you are free to choose tasks or projects, which fit in with your personal interest, from working with refugee children and young people's projects to facilitating visual art, film or permaculture gardening projects. We are developing two community gardens, so no shortage of gardening opportunity, the real permaculture experience: care for the earth, care for the people and fair trade. The longer you can stay, the more there is to learn about the needs of refugee and migrant communities in the Netherlands, about working in multi-disciplinary and intercultural teams, about the development of community etc. Beware, working with refugee communities can be tiring and hard - real commitment is needed for people with real needs.

    Of course, if you have previous experience and relevant education, we can agree on a position that suits your level of responsibility, which can be discussed.
    Zara and Yasmin attend school, Lutshen is home educated but will return to school within 1 month.... and as such many exciting projects, like a women group and creative preparations for youth and children projects, also take place in the morning!

    Since we just build our house, which is not fully completed the accommodation we offer is improvised: a sort of camping arrangement in your very own caravan, which accommodates 1-3 people, situated in our garden. There is a wifi Internet connection and electricity to charge mobile phones, laptops etc.

    We usually take turns cooking, we take pride in healthy and delicious food: vegan, vegetarian, halal: everything is possible.... if you like cooking we are more than happy to follow your lead!

    The longer you can stay the better, so when applying, please let us know the specific arrival times that are possible and if possible provide a CRB (Police check).

    Greetings and best wishes,

    Tom & Amal

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Dutch, German

  • Unterkunft


    Instead of your own bedroom we can offer your very own small heated caravan to live next to our home.

    We live next to a forest in a developing green area. You will have the use of a bicycle so that you can freely move throughout the city. Also, the bus stop, about 10 min walk from our home leads you to the city centre, which is 15-20 min per bus or car.

    There you also have access to two community centre, situated right in the middle of Almere city with all facilities easily accessible and plenty of people to get to know and work with.

    Almere is a new modern "garden" city, about 30 min from Amsterdam.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Tom enjoys sculpting as a hobby, you can also see his creative work on Facebook and that of Amal; there are many foto's from our work to get an impression of our work, but please use the workaway platform to apply.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our daughter Yasmin (on the left) likes to bake, make photos and draw. She likes company when making homework or watching a movie and she has a great sense of humour.
This is the community centre in Almere City Centre.
Yes, we have pets too, chickens who give us fresh eggs and 2 cats.... a white one called Nina and a black one called Cleopatra....
Our new years card....
This is the little caravan where you can stay. It can "sleep" 1 to 3 people, so you may apply as a small family or 2 friends.... its your private space, so you decide!
Community Gardens in development next to the refugee camp... really needs your support, as do the children from the refugee camp, whom you can support.
Our youngest daughter Zara likes to dance and laugh and draw and she needs lots of practice with reading...
Amal & Tom...

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 672766212553