Share our Irish family home and help with gardening and DIY near Ballydehob, West Cork, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 4 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.04.2018

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are an Irish family of 5 that live on the Wild Atlantic Way, just outside the village of Ballydehob, West Cork, Ireland. My husband works in the city and commutes home during the week. I work from home part time (virtual technical support) and really enjoy creative writing on the side. We have 3 kids (two daughters, 20/19 who are away in college) and our 10 year old son is home with us.
    Our house is a converted old farmhouse on approx 3 acres with a mix of landscaped and wild garden. We have a lot of out-sheds and our long term goal is to convert these for accommodation and have the whole site as a guest retreat. But we are a long way off that yet and so for now need help with general garden, maintenance etc.
    We are surrounded by nature and have apple, elderflower trees and wild blackberries when in season. I like to make our own elderflower cordial and apple jellies. Wild birds and animals e.g. fox, badger, hare, pheasant, bats, owls, peregrine are known to pass through.
    Right now we are planning renovations of our main house (it is an old house that constantly needs tipping away at) and sorting sheds and gardens etc. My parents, who live in the next village over, and we visit/help them too.
    My husband and I have done some traveling in the past and love to meet new people/cultures - learning about lifestyles/food/history of other nations. Story-telling is a must (we ask lots and lots and equally happy to share lots and lots) in the Little household and as like to say about opening our home to travellers, 'we get to travel the world through them.'

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are Irish through and through - we love our history/local attractions and enjoying sharing our culture and stories from generations past. We enjoy healthy food (mixed diet) and are non smokers. We drink alcohol on a social basis.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for someone who is generally fit and good core strength, who has interest in gardening e.g. weeding, digging, chopping wood and/or small DIY projects (painting, carpentry etc) Sometimes I might ask for help looking after my son and/or help with household chores/meals etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English. My husband speaks some French/Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation during the winter/off season is in our house in a single bedroom and you would share our home and bathrooms etc. This set up does not offer much privacy but you would be immersed into our family ways, we do ask for/respect private time at the end of the day.
    We have a converted shed (we call it the Bothy) and this is lovely during the summer stays. It has sleeping/sitting space and a sink for basics - there is no WC/shower or Wifi here but it is a lovely comfortable private space and you are welcome to use the house facilities when necessary.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have bicycles that can be borrowed and encourage exploring the area and local villages when not helping about the place. As we live on the Wild Atlantic Way there are wonderful sights nearby - the local village is small but is known for its festivals and has post office, shop/petrol station, many cafes and a good selection of restaurants. We live in a very creative area known for its great artisan food/markets, music and art. There are many cultures and lifestyles living locally.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

we like to go boating and have access to a nearby cove/boat for trips to the islands - we do a bit of cove clean-up when we can (spot my husband in the background)
3 'Little' women!
Our son Jackson, 10, with 'Basher' an injured hare that we rescued. This is us returning it to the wild after Vet treatment.
Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 669712941681