1 / 4

Join our community with its experiences and culture to foster social economy and community development projects in Guamote, Ecuador

  • Bisher 34 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 16 Juni 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    Hi! We are a family of three people living in a community near Guamote: I am a 30-year-old Indígena and a teacher of Spanish as a second language, I live close to my brothers, which is the main reason why we are here.

    I have two nieces girls who likes to play with their cousins. My mother is a housewife and my father is a farmer.

    About me, I have experience in linguistic studies and I am passionate about indigenous people and also foreign people, I am a good listener and I enjoy reading books and making music with Andean instruments, my passion is ancestral music.

    I believe that intercultural dialogue can be the key to a more peaceful world: knowing different people can help us be more tolerant and open to cultural diversity. I worked as a volunteer in a foundation and met many people. For all those reasons, I wish my nieces could grow up surrounded by people with different backgrounds.

    We want to meet other people from other countries and share with my reliable and smiling family that I can inspire and enrich him, in other words and languages, a caring person who would like to welcome you as a family member! Share our culture and knowledge with other people.

    We would like to receive volunteers from any country.

    We are very happy to receive volunteers for long STAYS (LONGER, BETTER) to make a more familiar relationship and avoid constant changes of volunteers.

    In addition, in my community we produce CHOCHOS a product with which a rich meal "CEVICHE DE CHOCHO" is prepared

    With your support we can help teaching more children in the community teaching English, computers, music, drawing so they can enter university.
    Volunteers are placed in a home stay in a Kichwa community in the rural Ecuadorian Andes. That said, we are just getting the program off the ground and, while we will take care of food, housing, and all the basics, every community is different with slightly different needs, and each volunteer (or set of volunteers) we get will bring a new community into the network so no volunteer's experience will be quite the same. This is an exciting opportunity to help jump-start a fledgling non-profit, bring English and arts instruction to folks who could otherwise have no access, and immerse yourself in Kichwa culture and life.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a small community located in the southwest of Riobamba, at an altitude of 3200 meters above sea level. The community is called San Francisco de Bishud.

    The San Francisco de Bishud Community is surrounded by a beautiful pine forest where you can enjoy running, walking, biking (mountain bikes) and being in touch with nature. Many locals are used to running in the pine forest or around the community.

    I will be happy to help you learn Spanish and the Kichwa language if you wish.
    My mom likes to cook and will be more than happy to show you some recipes of the typical food of the indigenous people and, if you wish, we can cook and put the recipes in my blog.

    When we have free time, we will be happy to make some trips in this beautiful area and other places.

    We have a satellite television service so you can enjoy movies with my family

    You can experience traditional Sicilian food made by local farms where you can meet the cows and see how they make fresh ricotta cheese and other foods and ride a donkey.

    Alcohol, cigarettes

    Marriages in the church
    Cults and spiritual events

    In February or March (4 weeks before Easter and three days before Ash Wednesday) in the city is the Carnival: a great event that lasts 3 days and you can see the incredible parade and all related events.

    We will do our best to make your stay a cultural exchange: you will have Sicilian food and we will invite you to cook and learn new recipes, we are also very interested in knowing the peculiarities of your area.
    Home stay with a local Kichwa family. Things definitely provided: bed, food, electricity, internet, company and conversation.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    - We want help in teaching and practicing the English language, we can take courses with children and with parents.

    - Girls love painting and drawing, it would also be excellent to help teach this important art.

    - Teach: Children really like music, learn to play guitar, violin and piano.

    - Community ventures, is one of the objectives also to help out of poverty. I am sure that, with the help of many people with a good heart, we will succeed.

    Here you can teach handicrafts, textiles, make goodies, teach saving to encourage entrepreneurship, family gardens, and others.

    - Teaching the word of God would also be one of the most important activities with children, youth and fathers and mothers.

    - Exchange of cultures, you can share experiences of your city about food, education, the way of living with the family, the environment and animals.

    - Social Assistance, especially with orphaned children, senior citizens, widowed and widowed, students with low economic resources creating a program of entrepreneurship and teaching to promote the economy.

    - The issue of water is also my concern, we do not have potable water, we do not have an irrigation system, I believe that in this we can manage a project to help the community. In this, you can help the community by teaching about hygiene and good water use.

    - The work to be done can be done with the volunteers and the community with the beneficiary families, coordinating with the NGOs and the Government.

    Volunteers will provide a few hours of instruction each weekday in addition to optional help with local agricultural projects. The majority of volunteers will be teaching elementary and middle school aged children with little to no prior English instruction. No certification in teaching of any sort is required, and if you need we can recommend some good books to prepare first time EFL teachers. However, at least a conversational level of Spanish is a necessity since next to no one in the communities speak English.

    If there is a request for educational support from the community school, the volunteers will be placed in local community schools not so far from my house (lodging house), so we ask that they stay at least half of the school year (preferably the full school year) that begins in late August and ends until the end.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Our apartment is not very big, but you will be provided with a private room with bed, sofa, wardrobe, small table, wifi and a TV.
    The bathroom will be shared.
    The family desktop computer (if necessary).
    Breakfast, lunch and dinner included / if we go somewhere, you can come with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Chimborazo is right in the center of Ecuador, so you're never more than a few hours bus ride from amazing sights and experiences. Buses, like most things here, are quite cheap (compared to the US) and within a weekend trip radius you have the Amazon rain forest, gorgeous beaches of the pacific ocean, and breathtaking treks through the Andes (including mt. Chimborazo, the tallest mountain in the world, measured from the center of the earth). There will also be plenty of opportunities to invest yourself further in the community during a minga (community work day) or in any of the many fiestas (especially in the months between Christmas and Easter).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 668968781854

Weitere Bilder


Explore and immerse yourself in local culture while helping out at a small guest house in Guayaquil, Ecuador
Teach English, art, or music in a rural Kichwa community, Ecuador