Help a registered non-profit with therapy horses and therapy gardens in Carmarthen, Wales



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    Hi my name is Jacqueline I run a non-profit Community Interest Company we registered in 2015 and since then run projects and workshops supporting individuals and groups with mental health and well being within our local community.

    I am 53, I have a daughter Ffion 26 and son Cai 24. We live in a mill near Carmarthen in West Wales. It is an ancient corn mill with a farmhouse and a cottage on a plot of land that sits next to the river Pibwr in Bolahaul (which translates to Belly of the Sun) It is a beautiful place with bags of character and charm. We have all the home comforts, electricity, hot water, showers, Wi-Fi, and television, but we are environmentally conscious we like to recycle, there are vegetable gardens, composting loos, and solar power. We can cater for vegetarians and vegans and we enjoy our food. We are relatively early risers as we like to get the most out of our days. Carmarthen is a 20-minute walk or a 5-minute drive, it's one of the oldest towns in Britain, ancient Roman, It was also the home of Merlin, King Arthur's Druid, and is steeped in Pagan history.

    We also have two dogs and a cat. Suri the Spinoni, Lilly the mini poodle and indie the tabby cat. I have a busy life style which includes having fun, dancing, board games, cycling, swimming, seeing live music etc

    I have a herd of therapy horses, I practice and teach Relational horse/Human ship based on Parelli as well as other models of natural horsemanship. I also manages stables and land in Pembrey, which is next to Pembrey Country Park, where there are 500 acres of parkland and an 8-mile beach which can be accessed easily. I'm also hairdresser, therapist and a Yoga teacher. Ffion lives in the Mill with her partner Joe they are both tattoo artists and run a shop in Carmarthen. Cai also plays in a band, he is training to be a Psychiatric nurse in Bristol University. We are a globally-minded family and keen to share our experiences with people from different cultures. All task are, horse, animal or garden related. There is also some general housekeeping and maintenance to keep the shared living place clean and tidy.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As well as living in a culture rich and historical area, we are near to Pembrokshire where we enjoy stunning coast line walks. There are Several Castles and areas of interest to visit. Jackie works with her therapy horses as a coach and facilitator of Equine Assisted Human Development, she practices and teaches relational horse human ship, having previous experience is not essential, workdays will get the opportunity to experience and learn new ways of working with horses under the guidance of Jackie who is a qualified and registered therapist and Natural horse human ship practitioner and member of MSAFE, NCP. Jackie also teaches yoga and holds several local classes and member of BWY.

    Travellers will get the opportunity to enjoy the benefits of exploring the the local area, and participating in activities, such as yoga, dance, swimming and hiking.

  • Registered Non Profit

    Registered non-profit

    This host is a registered CIC in the UK and is looking for help with their non-profit project. Please check directly with them if they can provide sponsorship. More info can be found here.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    As part of our community Interest company we are developing a therapy garden help needed will include weeding and planting, painting and maintaining fencing.

    There are also general basic building, restoration on the yard to include fencing, poo picking and stable tasks to help with therapeutic environment. Helping with a herd of therapy horses, feeding, grooming.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation comprises of a recently renovated tree house, insulated with electric heater, outside there is a compost toilet for night time use. Water for drinking and washing will need to be carried a short distance from the main house. There are also rooms available in the house with is a shower, bathroom and kitchen, meals will be cooked together and generally we take turns to cook and clean in shared living areas. We also have an outside pizza oven and barbecue and if weather permits we like to eat outside.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a 2 minute car journey from the train and bus station. There is a leisure centre near by plus gyms, yoga classes, a cinema, Library, Art Gallery, shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 649316853698

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Join our noisy, fun, affectionate and loving family in London, UK
Stay on an established low impact, non-profit smallholding in West Wales, UK