Help with English and discover traditional Mexican Family life in Toluca, Mexico

Country

Mexiko

Bisher 59 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.07.2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Christian, I'm 32 years old and last year I traveled the world spending time in Europe, Asia, and Africa. During my travels, I volunteered in the UK for 1 year and then I did some Workaways in Asia, I can assure that volunteering is the best way to get to know the real culture of a place and meet amazing people.

    Ones I came back to Mexico I realized the low English level and the lack of opportunities that low-income people has to practice and learn the language, that is why I started this project.

    In our organization, we are committed to help low-income children and adults to learn and practice English. We are located in Toluca City in a popular neighborhood where you will be able to experience all the real Mexican Folklore.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will meet many locals while teaching and you will also be living with a traditional Mexican Family so you can experience first hand how people are and live in this area of Mexico. As much as possible I would take you around and give you all the tips you need to move by yourself.
    If you also want to practice or learn some Spanish, it is the best place because not many people speak English.

    If you are keen on mountaineering Toluca has the "Nevado de Toluca" or also named "Xinantecatl" it's a volcano with an altitude of 4,640 meters over sea level. The crater of the volcano is reachable by car so if you are not in good shape don't worry :)

    In case you are interested in History there are many ruins from the Pre-Columbian era such as Calixtlahuaca and Malinalco.

    Inside de city, you can enjoy the architecture and visit places such as the cathedral, the Cosmovitral, or the town of Metepec. In addition, Toluca is the second Mexican city with more museums after Mexico City.
    There is a big variety of food and also many traditional candies that are made only in this region.
    Inside and on the outskirts of Toluca there are many small towns with particular traditions, depending on the time of the year you can visit and enjoy some of these events.

    If you are interested in a "Charreada" which is the national sport in Mexico, I can take you to an event on Sundays in a location near the project.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for travellers who are fluent in English, of course, being an English native speaker is a plus.
    Your main task is going to be to teach and speak with the students so they can practice and feel more comfortable speaking with foreigners.
    The schedule of the classes vary from day to day but you won't spend more than 25 hours a week.
    We also expect you to help when necessary with shopping and cooking.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will stay with my family in a house in Toluca City, in the area there is plenty of transportation to move around.
    You might have your own space, we've adapted an area for you.
    We will provide 2 meals a day or the ingredients to cook, most of the traditional Mexican food has meat so if you are vegetarian we will provide the ingredients to cook.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 644477245974