Active rural lifestyle with children, gardening and building.Small village near Bourne, UK



Bisher 95 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    If you want to experience rural England, come to Lincolnshire! We are a family of six, with Sam and Joanna, our lovely boys Rhys and Finn (6), and dogs Reggie and Willow. We also have eight chickens, lots of apple trees and try to grow a few veggies in the garden. Sam keeps bees, so we always have lots of honey and Joanna loves baking sourdough bread and all kinds of cakes. We live simply, eat home-made food and try to live sustainably. We have links to a local permaculture farm, where Sam keeps the bees, and love learning about how to take better care of the Earth. Sam works for a charity which conserves nature for birds and all wildlife and Joanna is learning carpentry. Sam's brother Jack, is living in a campervan on the drive and Sam’s parents live nearby. We place a high value on family life and spending quality time together.

    We love to travel, see new places and meet people from all over the world. We would be very pleased to welcome you into our family and share our home with you. We have a fairly big three bedroom house which has been extended a few times by previous owners and still needs a bit of work. We are doing all the building work ourselves (with help from several lovely workaways) and have managed to overhaul the kitchen, living room, dining room and a couple of bedrooms. We have a lovely garden, which runs all the way around the house, it is perfect for sitting out in the evening with a glass of wine and good friends. Our next projects are retrofitting insulation, renovating the upstairs bathroom and building a veranda. We are very relaxed and like to take life slowly! We take regular walks to the woodland, which you can walk to from the front door. We love to go camping and regularly take the camper van and some tents over to the East coast to visit Norfolk as an extended family.

    The house is in a village, so it is relatively quiet here, but there are good links to London from Grantham. We are happy to collect you from the train station in Grantham, with notice. There are regular events at our village hall, including a summer fete, quiz nights and parties. There is a pub in nearby Rippingale, which is a short bike ride away (we have bikes which can be borrowed). Bourne is just down the road and has all the usual shops, pubs and cafes, there are buses, or we can drop you off with notice.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The pace of life in this part of the world is slower, so people have time to say hello and welcome visitors. That is why we chose to move here. It is so green and fresh, with birds singing you awake and bats flitting around at bedtime. You will experience life as part of an aspiring environmentally friendly family. You can develop your building skills and share in learning about sustainable living practices. You will learn all about British wildlife and birds and you can take in woodland walks from the doorstep. We have visited many parts of England and can advise you in your travels, and we hope you will stay in touch. We had always lived in shared houses until we had children, so we are keen to have visitors. If you have a child, they can all play in the garden on the trampoline, the swings or in the huge sandpit. We can all go camping together at the weekends, we have plenty of camping stuff and a camper van. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Arbeit


    We will need help with keeping the house clean and tidy, general cleaning and also stripping wallpaper, painting, laying tiles and other general building/decorating duties. When we start on the veranda, there will be digging foundations, pouring cement, building the structure and laying tiles. The garden needs to be weeded and watered regularly, the dog needs walking and the chickens need to be checked daily. We’d like to build another greenhouse / polytunnel and a pizza oven.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    We can offer you a double bed in your own bedroom, it is clean and comfortable but hasn't been decorated yet, so it is a bit faded. There is a family bathroom along the hall and a second bathroom downstairs. You will have access to our living space, living room, dining room, kitchen etc. We will provide food for meals and we will all share in cooking family meals together in the evenings. we will accept couples. If you have a child, we can provide an extra bed in your room.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our village is a great little community, there are regular events and lots of friendly people. There are shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants in nearby Bourne and even more in Peterborough and Grantham. There are trains to Nottingham, Skegness, London or Lincoln from local stations and we could do a station drop off if you would like to visit on your weekends. It is pretty quiet in the evenings, so you can relax in the garden, cycle to the pub in Rippingale or visit Bourne for a drink and an excellent curry at a local Indian restaurant. There are lots of great walks and cycle rides to keep you fit. Local landmarks include Bourne Wood (ancient woodland), Temple Wood, Grimsthorpe Castle estate, Woolsthorpe Manor (Sir Isaac Newton's house), Rutland water and Belton House.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Extended family trip to Wales
More front garden.
The greenhouse, before we got all the glass in. It is a bit overgrown now we've had some sunshine!
Rhys posing next to the big barn.
In the camper van on the way to the family house in France.
Reggie the dog, when he was a bit younger and not so grey.
Joanna and Sam at a Christmas market in Germany, enjoying hot apple juice.
The boys making snowmen with cotton balls and glitter.
Grandad Roy's homemade chocolate birthday cake.
Joanna's mum Gillian reading with the boys.
Rhys and Finn, just before we went to Germany to visit our friend Philine in Gelsenkirchen.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 644124412638

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas