Help us prepare our home and garden for summer in Luberon valley, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 39 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're Martine and George, an Irish couple in our 50s who moved to the Luberon valley a couple of years ago. We live in a very typical hilltop village which is situated at the eastern end of the Luberon. Our village has a life all year round, unlike many places in Provence which become ghost towns during the winter - this is one of the reasons we love it here! There are two café/bars, one of which does live music most Fridays, a small grocery, a butcher, a baker, and a couple of galleries - there's a real arty, creative vibe to the village. Right now we have a lot of non-routine maintenance to do : build a wood shelter, split logs, cut back some really thick bushes and trees in the garden plus the never-ending painting that is always there to do when we look around! In exchange for your help, we can offer you yummy food (we can do vegan or vegetarian no problem), wine (goes without saying, really!), photographic trips (George is a professional photographer), painting/drawing expeditions (Martine is a keen pastel artist), hiking, bikes to go touring on, quality time with our crazy dogs and our lovely horses (retired, so no riding, sorry), and a good solid introduction to French village life. In the past, we've tried to do at least one day's touring with our Workawayers so that they see a little more of the area, and we'll do our best to keep this going with future visitors.
    Our house is in the village and has a great view across the valley. It's a two minute walk down to the village square; five minutes in the other direction and you're in the middle of the woods.
    Because the work we have at the moment is pretty heavy, we need someone reasonably strong, and a carpentry background would be an advantage.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Culturally speaking, yes we're Irish living in a French village so it's not a truly French experience, but our village is a very special place where people from all walks of life form a thriving and friendly community.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    In the autumn, we start to attack the maintenance of the gardens, so lots of tree chopping to do. We will also be helping pick olives for some friends in November/December, so help with that would also be appreciated.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    One bedroom, with a double bed. Bathroom is shared with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There's a pretty good bus service to our village from Manosque and along the main road from Digne les Bains to Avignon. We'll do our best to take you sightseeing - the Gorge du Verdon is one of our favourites, also Colorado Provencal, the ancient fort at Buoux, Ventoux, a real Mecca for a cyclists.... there is so much to see here! If you're interested, get in touch and talk to us about the dates you're available, and what you'd like to see or do while you're here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 626471796584