Permakulturprojekt in Devon, im Südwesten Englands

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 287 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 40 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a husband and wife team living in the picturesque county of Devon in the south west of England. Our home is an off-grid permaculture project comprising of 10 adult and 8 child members.

    Our lives are filled with gardening, bringing up children, animal care, processing firewood, managing woodlands, pumping water, hosting volunteers and visitors, holding consensus meetings, maintaining and building structures, running courses and events, fixing things, maintaining solar and wind power, administering the needs of the Co-op, and gently managing the pastures and ancient hedgerows. The land is comprised of approximately 42 acres of which 17 acres are semi-natural ancient woodland, 22 acres are pasture and the remainder is naturally regenerating scrub and hedgerows. There is a stream along the most north-westerly boundary at the bottom of our sloping woodland.

    It is one of the most beautiful places to live. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city and basking in the wonders of nature, the co-operative is full of magic and adventure. We hold the intention to create a thriving low impact community, a place where we can explore ways of living gently on the earth and inspire others.

    As your hosts we provide delicious home cooked, and depending on the time of year organically home grown food. We live with the rhythms of the seasons and cycles. There may be a specific project we are seeking your help with, or more general tasks. Whilst our lifestyles can be physically demanding at times, we try as best as we can to integrate the principles of earth care, people care and fair share. This means that we care about you as our volunteer and welcome you into our home.

    Located near to the incense filled streets of Totnes town, and the beautiful jurrassic coastlines and devon moorlands. We are always happy to share maps and favourite spots for your days off. That's if you even feel to venture off the land (many don't!).

    Looking forward to connecting with some work away folkes this summer xX

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will benefit from the immersion in nature. Our location is breath taking, the community itself is friendly and welcoming, and we share our communal meal every friday evening in the style of a pot-luck curry. We speak English only and so offer a great opportunity to improve English vocabulary skills. We are always keen to share stories and experiences, learn new things and make new friends.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We maintain a small personal and communal food garden and look after some life stock, namely chickens. We would like some help maintaining these, maintaining composting systems and some grassland managment (which could involve some scything). We are also planning some building work, mainly working with wood.

    There are always the odd make and mend jobs which pop up, e.g. fencing, furnisher repairs and hedgerow pruning.

    Experience is always valued, and we can show you the ropes/ our style of working too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    At the moment accommodation is a small 3 man tent in our camping field. This field overlooks the famous 'hey torr' on the Devon Moorlands. You are welcome to bring your own tent.

    It's essential that you bring your own sleeping bag.

    All our toilets are compost toilet systems. We have an outside adapted bucket shower that you are always welcome to use, as well as the stream at the bottom of the forest and/ or if you are feeling adventurous you are welcome to fire up the woodland hot tub.

    There is a communal bender with cooking facilities and a wood burner/ socialising area for cooler evenings.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As mentioned, this place itself is a vast 42 acres and offers plenty of scope for exploration. Nearby are the beaches of Blackpool sands, Strete, and Torcross, further along and still accessible by public transport is the coast line of Salcombe and Garra Rock.

    Inland the Devon moors are vast and filled with beauty and abundance. From an ancient oak woodlands at Dart meet to historic towns of Chagford. It's easy to lose your way on the moorlands!

    We are also 6-8 miles from the towns of Totnes and Dartmouth for those who have maxed out on nature and need a few luxuries (or coffee shops!).

    Living in a community means that there are regular lift opportunities to nearby towns. The nearest train station is Totnes, and buses run locally. We are also happy to help make dream plans happen when we can, if a car is needed.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 621374583938