Help on our farm in the Western Cape, South Africa

Country

Südafrika

Bisher 188 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.11.2021

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Situated in the heart of the Garden Route - on the far side of Homtini, about 35km out of town, right on the forests edge between Rheenendal and Barrington, the property supports a host of animals including dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, sheep, emu’s, peacocks, some cattle and a hand full of horses.

    The animals are all well socialised and extremely interactive. They move freely among each other in large camps, some around the house, stables and on the surrounding lawns. Also on the property is a number of large dams and oak trees that offer shade and create the beautiful setting we call home.

    Now to some this may sound a bit like the property of hoarders but in truth, we keep things neat and orderly so scrap any preconceived ideas of a typical “maplotter plasie” a term used to commonly describe a smallholding scattered with scrap metal and builders rubble. Expect NONE OF THAT!

    The main house, is a humble little wooden "whatshumacallit" no bigger than the stables. This is situated towards the northern boundary, facing south, overlooking the valley. Here lives a friendly, animal loving couple who actively maintains the property 7 days a week, 365 days a year! On the south boundary, out of sight, there is an even smaller wooden "whatshumacallit", best described as an open plan bedsitter which accommodates family or friends on short or medium term basis.

    This is slow living and nature at its' best... quiet, peaceful and a view to die for!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Besides experiencing the sunny SA climate, volunteers stand to learn all there is to know about horse handling, daily care and overall welfare.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Visiting volunteers can expect to fall into the daily farm routine, starting with coffee around 7:30 - yes coffee! A structured feeding and animal care routine starts around 8:00 and takes a team of 2 - 3 people through to around 10:00. During this time, horses, sheep, cattle, chickens, emu's and whatever else cares to join are provided their daily ration, cleaned, loved and treated medically if and when necessary. Ten o'clock marks the time for a quick breakfast; generally eggs on toast with coffee and more coffee to be enjoyed informally under the ancient oak trees - whether permitting.

    *️️️️️Foot note: the farm and its residents runs hugely on coffee - so expect to make coffee, and lots of it! The rest of the day is made up of adhoc farm duties and responsibilities which includes but is in no way limited to; veggie gardening, paddock cleaning, fencing, yard maintenance, moving irrigation, exercising horses etc. Volunteers will be expected to assist in any one of these areas for an hour or two to complete their working day.

    Our environment best suits individuals with high moral standards and a healthy work ethic. Whilst we don't claim to be saints, we are in many ways very conservative and appreciate a fair amount of modesty.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer basic accommodation in the form of a guest room that sleeps 2 individuals on a short to medium term basis, dormitory style. Furnishings are standard and economical. Water and electricity supply included. Ablution facilities are shared.
    We also have ample space to pitch a tent.

    Volunteers will be provided with at least 2 meals per day, most likely breakfast and dinner but we are flexible in this area. We love to cook and enjoy the fellowship that comes with sharing a meal. Eggs and vegetables are readily available on the farm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no shortage of things to do in ones down time, whether it be on or off the property. Depending on individual riding ability, volunteers may be able to spend some time out on horseback. Alternatively they can explore the great outdoors off site... Homtini River, The Drupkelders, Jubilee Creek and various other hiking and cycling hot spots are only a stone through away! Transport can also be arranged to and from Knysna town or any of the surrounding beaches; Buffels Bay being the most popular surf spot.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Good internet access makes allows us to work from home and provides opportunity for visitors to stay in touch of keep up to date with their own work whilst visiting.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 615965238264