1 / 5

Help us with painting and DIY projects at our country home in Baugé en Anjou, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 23 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 9 Nov. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Almost 4 years ago we decided to leave the cold Swedish winters behind and indulge our passion for France. Retirement is full of interest and hard work! We are a bit of an odd couple - a Welsh woman from Cardiff and a Swede! We love our lives here in Anjou, renovating our mid 18th century longère and 5 acres. We have 3 dogs, rescued from certain death and now living the good life with waggy tails and big grins! Also 2 cats who consent to keep us on as staff. There is a separate cottage here for visitors and it's home from home. There are 3 local villages each about 5 km away, 3 towns each about 10km distant and Angers, Tours, le Mans and Saumur are each about an hour's drive. Plenty to explore and experience this close to the Loire.
    Ingemar has a lifetimes' knowledge of engineering, sailing, IT and has some fluency in Nordic languages. I am still learning French and my background is business research, project management and academia.
    I love meeting new people, learning new things, cooking and having a go at creative stuff. We are generally relaxed, and friendly but we would prefer to be mixing with sensible people who don't mind mucking in and being friends with 3 black staffies. (Good classic staffie temperament! If you are dog people you'll understand).
    Our house is a bit battered and we realise we are too. I'm 72 this year and I can't lift the loads i used to and shin up ladders. Ingemar's knees aren't good either so we would really appreciate help with the tasks associated with creating the utility room and painting walls and wood projects in the attic bedroom we are putting in. There's a lot to do inside and out so all help according to skills and energy would be very welcome. Examples: Helping with clearing the spaces to put in the self levelling floor compound; brushing down and painting walls; possibly cutting grass, weeding, planting depending on the time of year.
    Our home is warm and welcoming, with good meals and homemade cake, bread and jam from our own produce. We offer language and cultural exchange, complete calm, fabulous skies with no light pollution, a lovely community to meet, so many grass cutters, a tractor, a digger, a little lake, woodland, and if you get satisfaction from standing back and seeing what you have achieved, rewarding tasks.
    Zoo de la Flèche is 10 mins up the road. Vineyards/domaines are within reach. We have bicycles too, a pétanque course and 300 metres of Ruisseau/stream. Surrounded by farmland it's very rural.
    Our goal/need for this spring is to finish the utility room/hallway to the first floor and also finish the new master suite and mezzanine.

    The house is pre Revolution with the original bread oven. We have a separate gite with 2 bedrooms, kitchen diner and living room with wood burner.
    We would welcome your questions.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Ingemar and I have different professional careers pre retirement and lots of experience in practical and academic fields. Ingemar was a competitive yachtsman and charter captain as well as an engineer and IT networking specialist. We have lots of
    outdoor equipment needing maintenance and repair for those wishing to learn through helping. I have a lifetime of research, writing and teaching as well as bringing up a family. I can help with language skills, spoken and written (not the same!). I have a qualification in mentoring and coaching, a teaching certificate and 15 years of mentoring in university. I can help with English language skills and an depth knowledge of UK business and geography. I don't know why that would be of interest!
    Our area of Maine et Loire/Sarthe and the Loire Valley is known for its rich cultural heritage, and much within easy driving distance for those wanting to visit.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Painting, sometimes up a ladder. Lifting and carrying (jointly). General cleaning up needed when DIY projects are underway. Ability to use power tools would be very helpful as there are shelves to be installed.
    Gardening if someone likes gardening.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Fully-equipped, self-contained
    2 bedroom cottage opposite the main house.
    It's a nice comfortable home!
    We are happy to provide lunch and imagine that workawayers would like to be free to decide what they prefer for an evening meal. We are very flexible.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are very definitely in the middle of nowhere! No public transport. But very conveniently sited with villages, towns and cities within easy travel/drive time, as mentioned before. We can provide transport to local bus hubs.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We are limited by download capacity each month.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of space. Electricity hookup.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We accept pets on the basis that they are vaccinated and under control. Owners will clear up after them. We have a separate fenced area if needed too. Our dogs are not used to other dogs so we would keep them separate for safety. We also have 2 free range cats!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Flexible. Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 599889142173

Feedback (3)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)