Looking for volunteers to help with renovation and gardening projects in Australia



Bisher 122 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    We are a fun, adventurous, travelling couple that loves meeting new people and trying new things. We have worked seasonally in Japan, Canada, New Zealand, Thailand and recently spent 11 month living out of a 4wd as we travelled South America. We volunteered as workawayers in Bolivia and Colombia and are now signing up as hosts as we renovate our new home among the gumtrees. We are 28 years old and grew up on the Sunshine Coast. We work (Hayley) 5 days a week as a Dental Assistant and (Danny) 4 days a week as a yacht rigger and sailmaker. We are pretty relaxed, friendly and really enjoy meeting new people (especially travellers when we aren't able to travel ourselves) and always enjoy trying and learning new things. We also learnt basic Spanish while we were in South America and would love to keep speaking it with people.

    Our house is an old relocated queenslander on a nice size block. It is not far from town with the king parrots, rosellas and possums in the trees. It has hammocks on the verandah overlooking the gumtree forest. We will be building underneath the house, renovating upstairs and fixing up the yard with gardens.

    At this stage our chickens are a little too 'free range as they are often found walking down the street, so we would love someone to tackle a chicken run project also.

    Our parents have also bought a similar house a couple doors down and would love a hand now and then.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As we grew up on the Sunshine Coast, we have a pretty good knowledge of the area and recommendations on places around the region. We would enjoy sharing what we have learnt from other areas within and outside Australia also.
    As we renovate, we are always learning and I am sure there are skills that we can both share and learn from each other.
    I believe Australia is still in the process of finding an 'Australian identity' but this means we have a very diverse range of what it is to be a 'normal' Australian in a 'normal' Australian setting. Time with us on the Sunshine Coast would be a blend of country and Aussie beach. Think of an old ute with a beach towel in the back.
    The only way to really experience Australian culture would be to spend as much time meeting different aussies in different places and get as much diversity as possible.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Looking for hands on people who are keen to do try anything. Any experience with building/renovating is great but we learn as we go so anyone who is enthusiastic will be perfect. We are just want people around who are friendly and will be enjoyable to work with.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have a double bed in a private room with TV for workawayers.

    We aren't vegetarian but would be happy to eat vegetarian while workawayers are here if they are keen to share the cooking. We do have very free range chickens and a constant supply of their eggs and would like to extend our be be patch.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a waterfall a short walk from the house and many other swim holes/waterfalls within short distance. Public transport the rest of the Sunshine Coast is easily accessable.
    We are also going to pick up some bicycles to use too.

    We have public transport nearby - buses around the Sunshine Coast, Trainstation closeby for Brisbane or North and I work next to the airport for transfers.
    We both also work in different areas of the coast near the beach so if you wanted to come on the drive to work and spend the day exploring different area and get a lift back at the end of the day that would work too. We are also keen to do odd trips here and there on the odd weekend like camping, kayaking etc.

    We also have a hobie catamaran we are fixing that we can take out on the river also.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 576753145865