Help with garden and other handy projects on the house South East of Mallorca, Spain



Bisher 32 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    First up, we are still fairly new to this, only having hosted one work-awayer so far. We could always need some help. The reason for not hosting more is that we actually have no space to host anyone in our house, but recently we were realised we could host someone, who is travelling in a mobile home (Caravan). We have outdoor space to park up. We also have an outdoor shower. Access to the toilets in the house is a bit of an issue, as it's through a bedroom, but that is a project that we are aiming to do :-).

    We are a English/German, mainly vegetarian family of 5. We speak English and German and have began to get better at Spanish. The children also learn Catalan at school. We live on a Finca not far from the stunning beaches in the South East of Mallorca.

    I am Inés taking on the role of looking after food and laundry and our general household and most things related to the children, i.e. school runs and getting them to activities and friends etc. I also speak basic Spanish. Sean, my husband works a 9 to 5 job (although it can vary a bit) 10 minutes on a motorbike from home. Flyn, 13 goes sailing, likes to play tennis and he loves reading (mainly in English) Noah, 11is very creative, does karate, loves Art & Music and really wants to meet someone who can teach him how to play his drums (he has an electrical set). Enzo, 6 our smallest boy loves to be just like his big brothers and is showing real character at times. He is having acrobatic circus lessons.

    On weekends when we are not maintaining the garden and house or dashing off to some kids activity, we try to enjoy time at a nearby beach or going for a walk/ small hike or exploring places on the island we have not seen.

    There are always things that need updating, sorting out and the garden needs maintenance. We are always pretty busy around the house and the garden. We like to improve where possible, but we have a limited budget only, especially now during these testing times (as we only have the one job).

    We know this is fun way to get our kids acquainted with people from other places of the world and we adults also love to get to know you and learn from you. We had one Workaway 2 years ago and were all really happy. We would love to have more people come and be with us, but we are having an issue with space. The garden is big enough, but the house it tiny and the amenities are not really suited to have helpers right now. Hopefully in the near future we will look into building a composting toilet to make things easier, but we are very limited what we can do structurally on our property - long, ongoing story with authorities..

    We are a happy family, but daily life without extended family nearby means certain things are harder to achieve in a shorter space of time. Our main priority is to have a balance, not to loose out completely on quality family time, i.e. exploring together, going to the beach, playing board games, having a film night, playing sports in the garden, eating good food together.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you desire, you can improve and learn languages with us.

    A little spark of Kindness can put a colossal burst of Sunshine into Someone’s Day, so who knows what we could take away from one another when our time comes to an end, but I believe we will be richer no matter ☺️

    “In learning you will teach and in teaching you will learn” – Paulo Coehlo

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for a Workaway to stay with us for 2 to 3 weeks. During this time you will need to stay in your own mobile home on our property. You are welcome to eat (vegetarian) with us during your stay.

    You need to be selfsufficient mobile, as simply going to the nearest beach requires a 10minute drive, but also considering that you might want to explore the island in your free time. There is plenty to see and do.

    We require you to be able to help on the weekend, as this is the time my husband will be mainly around and aim to work on our projects. Therefore during the week will be more free time for you.

    We are hoping that you can help us with the garden maintenance and various handy tasks on the house; we will update and specify the list of tasks according to the progress we make.
    Other options to help out might involve spending time with our children, i.e. play games, read a story, go on a bike ride with them, play at the beach with them, perhaps take them to their activities.

    You should be handy around the house, be able to learn fast and adapt the new skills quickly. You will be able to lend a helping hand with some heavy carrying tasks. We are looking for a fit and healthy young person that gets stuck in and is not afraid to get their hands dirty. You should like children and be able to engage with them in their topics and conversations. An open ear to children’s stories goes a long way and will earn you plenty of brownie points from them ☺️ .We like the kids to have a very limited amount of screen time. The teenager is going through a pretty tough time right now and is not always easy to be around (at leats for us parents).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You will be coming in your own mobile home. There is an outdoor shower. We are eat mainly vegetarian. We will provide one cooked vegetarian meal per day, mostly this is at dinner - and it will be great if you could help us cook or clean up after. Other meals will be up to you, so you might want to help yourself to whatever we have in the fridge. But w will also provide an area in our spare fridge for you to use.

    We eat rather healthy and sustainably sourced and there is always plenty of fruit and veggies in the house, aside from bread, baguettes, cereal, cheeses etc. We don't consume many snacks or soft drinks, but you are welcome to buy those for yourself if this is what you like.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The best way to get around Mallorca is by car or a motorcycle. There are buses that run from Campos to Palma and other parts of the island too, but obviously car is more straight forward. Campos is a small town with bars and restaurants in the centre, but we are located a bit outside of town.
    There are many beaches and coves. Mallorca is also famous for hiking with plenty of trails from easy to hard and it’s a popular place to come for cyclists.

    Right now, because of COVID people are getting poorer by the day here. There is hardly any work, as the island usually depends on tourism and this is very limited right now, so there are almost no jobs here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    As long as you come in mobile home, we are happy to have you. We have a great running intent connection and can give you access.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Smaller camper vans, smaller mobile homes or caravans, converted cars for living are welcome. Outdoor shower. Toilet access through the main house.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    We prefer people to work rather 2-3 complete days to get stuff done i.e. 20h +/- and the rest of the time is yours to use

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 565927475181