Magical Farmhouse Workaway Stay in Denmark

Country

Dänemark

Bisher 82 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Family of two (mother, Sue, and daughter, Katie, 10 and 45 yrs, old) seeks english speaking company and support on jobs around the house and garden.
    We live in an amazin old farm house from 1677, updated with running water, modern kitchen and indoor bathroom etc.
    Daughter goes to school 5 days a week, while the mother stays at home being partially disabled and sometimes deal with some nasty pain issues and very limited ressources.
    Mom takes care of the household, the vegetable garden, 26 chickens and various fun projects (e.g. building projects, theme parties, art, historical research), but works at a slow pace and struggles to keep up.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are humbly trying to create world peace one friendship at a time ♥️
    We try to take a step back from hurting the planet by consuming, stressing, abusing and exploiting with our eyes closed. We are not fanatics, we do like to travel and we drive a car and eat meat (just not store-bought) but we also recycle, reuse, repurpose and we have build a fairy tale house from fleamarket treasures and other 2nd hand findings and we invest in people with love and compassion.
    We are both history nerds and love to share everything we know about danish history especially the viking age and family history if you have danish roots.
    We are quite new to workaway (2019) but we have travelled as and hosted couchsurfers for ten years, some have lived with us for up to three months at a time to learn danish and experience danish ways of living, traditions and family life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Usefull skills in craftmanship and other super powers are greatly appreciated but not mandatory 😄

    I need help with odd projects i.e. building a green house from old windows, painting, digging a root cellar or preparing a 200m2 flower field to help save the bees, plan a theme party or dumbster dive for food to cook and to share with others.
    Because I never use pesticides in the garden, you will be doing a lot of weeding and I need someone who can dig a hole in the ground, carry firewood or push a wheel barrel when I can't do it myself because of my back injury.

    I also expect workawayers to help with normal everyday household chores: things you would do in any home you live in or share with others. Cooking, cleaning and doing laundry.

    Speaking english and keeping us company.
    Both of us already speak english, but it's been almost 20 years since I left a life where english was my primary language and it is deteriorating, and we would both like to use it more again and since I am not always well we don't get out much and to be honest hence my people skills are also deteriorating and we would benefit from a positive input from other people. We have travelled a lot all over the world and we miss the connections and experiences from meeting people.

    We are very flexible on the hours and days if you want to do long weekend trips or daytrips during the week it is absolutely fine as long as we plan ahead a few days.
    I work very long nights doing research, and so I am rarely available for company before noon, but there is enough space in the house for everyone to do their own thing in their own time.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Danish, english

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    "HYGGE" !
    Private alcove beds in a Hogwarts style dorm room in the attic (see photo). Workawayers / travellers will have private accomodations in the dorm located in an open 110 square meters attic, with a theater for movie nights in the opposite end. Shared bathroom downstairs.
    The house is a little primitive but a cosy and fun experience in a Hogwarts-kind-a-way.
    We are not rich but we will share what we have and our workawayers will be part of our family while they are here.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in the island of Fyn, known as the garden of Denmark, because of it's fairytale like gorgeous green landscapes and villages. The beach is 3km away and we provide bicycles for visitors or maybe make trips together to viking markets, Funen Village, Odense, Egeskov or other places by car.
    We can arrange a visit to the daughters school or the nearby Brenderup Højskole for a tour of the off grid house projects etc.
    Public busses runs close by but not every hour. Train is 15km away.
    When workswayers arrive we will of course pick them up at train.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The Mom: Sue
The Daughter: Katie Ellen
Yearly summer party "St.Picnic's Day" at my house. I have close to zero musical skills but that doesn't keep from entertaining LOL
The Hogwarts style workaway dorm room in the attic
My room ♥️ The library-bedroom
I don't have a bedroom (workawayers have more private accomodations than myself :) but sleep in this room in the middle of the house. I love my library!
Summer of 2018 was so warm we moved the bedroom outside and lived in the garden all summer ♥️
Hee hee, also a photo from the very warm summer of 2018. Don't worry shy workawayers: we also have a real bathroom inside the house!
Because sometimes you just need your own summer vacation tipi ♥️
Resting area in the garden on a rainy day
View from a corner of the garden along the side of the house
The Chick-Inn
New baby chicks 2018
Ducklings on slug patrol in the vegetable garden
Vegetable garden, 2018

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 556656485468