Help out on our hobby farm and get involved with local non-profit groups near Meadow Lake, Canada

  • Favourited 10 times
  • Last activity: 28 Mai 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our place is a small property on the Canadian prairies where farms and fields mix with forest. Your hosts are a middle aged couple involved in a handful of non profit volunteer groups and community interests.

    We keep busy with gardening, yard projects, wood working, fishing and helping at the animal shelter.

    This is a safe space to enjoy your time in a quiet and slow-paced environment. The dogs and cats keep you company and wildlife will show up on occasion to wander the trails.

    The property is located 23 kms from town and has all basic amenities as well as internet access. Living arrangements include one small bedroom and full access to the kitchen, living room and a shared washroom/laundry room.

    Any interested visitors can connect with us at any time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The household is part Indigenous (Plains Cree) and part Canadian. Local community events on the First Nation will be attended whenever appropriate. Trips to other acreages and nearby communities will provide local culture. Visitors will have a chance to learn about Indigenous culture and traditions as well as plenty of rural activities including hobby farm living and animal care.

    Anyone who wants to experience the northwest Saskatchewan forestry industry is also encouraged to visit as tours to local mills and forestry operations can be arranged with enough notice.

    Our household is involved in assorted community groups and causes including the Humane Society, the local Library Board and Saskatchewan Search and Rescue.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our hobby farm is home to handful of rescued dogs, two cats, and a family of Icelandic sheep. We have 69 acres of mixed terrain including numerous sand hills, boreal forest, open field and an open yard site. Twice a week there will be the opportunity to join in on a volunteer shift at the local animal shelter. This involves cleaning and feeding dogs and cats. Once a month there will be chores and maintenance at a wildlife rescue 40 minutes from our place. Other projects include outbuilding repair, animal care, building projects and light yard tasks. There will always be opportunities to learn and be included.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors will share living space with hosts but with a bedroom of their own. Another option is for visitors to have their own private space in a modern mobile camper/caravan right in the yard. There is a large amount of outdoor space and opportunities to stay in the yard site itself in our waterproof camping tent. Bedding, linens, laundry machines and likewise necessities are all provided. The shared washroom and kitchen are always available for use. Travel to and from town will be available daily if necessary. Meals will be provided and dietary restrictions can be accommodated easily.

    Any special living arrangements or accommodations can be made with enough notice. A dresser and storage space will be included with the bedroom. Access to the workshop and use of all materials, tools and equipment therein is available with permission. Artists and craftspeople are encouraged to make use of anything and everything.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visitors will have access to the amenities of the house and yard. Time off can be spent on day trips to different cities within driving distance. There are limited evening entertainment opportunities in the nearby town but our place also hosts several friends and relatives for evening visits when weather allows.

    More can be found to do if visitors are feeling bored. Online streaming services are available for visitors who wish to enjoy screen time including normal internet access.

    We try to live very simply here. We try new things especially if there is an opportunity to live sustainably, recycle/repurpose materials and conserve resources. We enjoy the natural resources of our property and spend time with our companion animals. We enjoy having snacks and drinks around big bonfires and playing games. Our acreage projects always keep us busy throughout the year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs and cats and small animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 546337293756

Feedback