Help turn my farmhouse and land into a paradise in Moncarapacho, Portugal

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 162 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    65.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! We are Freek (Dutch) and Holly (British). Two years ago, Freek decided to leave the Netherlands behind to travel through Portugal in his campervan. We met during this period, in the hostel where I (Holly) was working. After doing some volunteering/workaway projects himself, Freek came across a beautiful property with 3 hectares of land in the Algarve and decided to make this old farm a base for campervan travellers.

    We got the keys in July, and immediately started restoring the old farmhouse to its former glory with the help of workawayers / friends. Together with local experts we are turning the farmhouse and its land into a paradise for travelers that are seeking for an organic & authentic experience while staying closely connected to nature. We live together in and around the house with about 2 workawayers / friends, depending on the amount of work that needs to be done.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We offer:
    • Fresh food and accommodation
    • Knowledge of English/Dutch (other languages)
    • Different cultures and a community feeling
    • Guidance and good company
    • An unique experience, a chance to work together on a beautiful project surrounded by nature

    We often have guests and visitors coming through, and many an evening is spent sat around the dining table chatting into the night. We love to learn from each other and exchange stories, knowledge and skills.
    We also respect each others personal space and need for alone time - the land is big enough to take your distance when you want and enjoy the nature. We have recently installed a hammock which even has a sea view!
    The area where we live is surrounded by lots of hiking spots and beaches, islands like Fuseta just off the coast which you can travel to by boat taxi. The two nearest towns are Tavira and Olhão, which are both quite vibrant in summer and have all the bars and restaurants you could wish for.
    We have two bikes that you are welcome to use to get around if you haven't got a car.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are many ways to contribute to the project here, and we are always keen to tailor tasks to the volunteers interests and skill set.

    If you are considering to join our project, possible activities in which you will participate will be:

    • Cooking/cleaning - we are always in need of help with household chores such as cooking & shopping.
    • Gardening - We planted a vegetable garden back in March with the help of our workawayers and things are now flourishing and constantly developing! The garden needs light but constant maintenance like weeding and watering.
    • Harvesting - we have various different fruit trees that need harvesting. The olives are ready in November/December, but we also have figs (June/July), pomegranates (Sept), almonds (July), carobs and more.
    • Preserving - all that produce needs to be used. We always need help drying, pickling and preserving the fruits of the harvest.
    • Building - We look for people with skills in carpentry, construction and DIY. Amongst the projects coming up, there is building the kitchen in the farmhouse, building an outdoor kitchen in the garden, building a deck, tiling and painting, landscaping, the list goes on!

    In return for your food and accommodation we ask 5 shifts a week, Monday to Friday, 5 hours a day. We are happy to let you manage your own time and chose your working hours. A day could look like this - 8:30am breakfast, 9:00am begin work, 11:00 coffee break, 11:30 - 13:00 work, 13:00-14:00 lunch, 14:00-15:30 work and 16:00 off to the beach!

    Cooking and cleaning is a shared duty which we all participate in. Where possible we like to use our produce from the garden and eat vegetarian/healthy. We are big food lovers and welcome creativity in the kitchen. Don't worry if cooking isn't your thing, as there will always be washing up!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are located somewhat off grid, only a small 15 minute drive from the beach. Until the house is completed, we can offer accommodation in one of the containers - which although modest has a double bed and air con! Alternatively we have Holly's converted high top van which has electricity, a double bed and mini yoga deck. You will have everything you need at your disposal but don’t expect too much luxury yet. Our terrain is equipped with electricity, a washing machine, fully equipped kitchen, WIFI and a compost toilet. Hot running water is also available in our outside shower (underneath a beautiful almond tree).

    Plenty of fresh local food will be provided during your stay. We prepare three meals per day, mainly veggie, and try to include a great deal of local products. Holly loves to bake sourdough bread and we press fresh orange juice from the land for breakfast! We always try to eat together, as it is experienced as a very valuable moment to connect and have fun.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A weekday, from the perspective of a workawayer:

    You rise around 8 to prepare some breakfast under the Portuguese sun surrounded by fruit trees. Enjoy some coffee and fresh pressed orange juice from the land. We usually make homemade oatmeal, yoghurt and fresh fruits, Freek will scare the sleep right out of you with his morning enthusiasm and some music.
    Carlos the builder is already there before 8am with his dog Ruca and greets you in Portuguese. If you don’t fala português yet, no worries! Carlos will use hands and feet to make sure you learn what he means fast enough.

    13:00 ‘o clock, we all know what that means, lunchtime! While Holly has baked some fresh sourdough bread, one of the other volunteers is making their speciality. Once lunch is on the table, everyone joins in. Once the stomachs are filled, the cooks can relax and the others will do the dishes. After that, let’s see what still needs to be done for one last push before its your time to put down the tools at 15:30.

    After a sweaty morning working there's nothing like a winding down. Read a book in the hammock or if your feeling energetic, grab the bike and cycle down to Fuseta beach to spend a couple of hours cooling down in the beautiful clear water. You cycle back in the late afternoon sun and once home, ask if the cook needs help with dinner. At 20:00 the team sit down to a light supper and enjoy the feeling of a hard days work wash over them. They chat lazily whilst washing up and after hanging out for a while, you decide it is time to snuggle up in your bed. Dreaming of the adventures of past and present.

    Weekends:
    In the weekends and between dining times you are free to do whatever it is your heart desires. There are two surfboards standing around that you are welcome to utilize if you have a vehicle to get yourself to the beach. Sometimes we go out together and go for a nice swim or discover the area, everyone is welcome to join but nothing is compulsory. These are nice times to enjoy all the beauty the Algarve has to offer.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a beautiful rual property of 3,5 Hectare so lot's of space for people with an own campervan. You are also welcome to sleep in one of our own vans.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    +/- 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 538876333537