Help with household care and pop-up dinners in beautiful Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 14 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.08.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    HI there, my husband and I live in a large house in Queen Charlotte, Haida Gwaii, a beautiful and remote archipelago off the North West Coast of British Columbia. I work half-time as a writer for city-based architecture magazines and book publishers. When I’m not writing, I’m cooking and cleaning and gardening and fixing up our house; or organizing and cooking for semi-regular "pop-up" community fundraising dinners. My greatest need is in high summer (June/July/August) but that timetable could be flexible. Ideally I'm looking for a couple (either life partners or two good friends.)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Haida Gwaii is the home of the Haida people, one of Canada’s Indigenous nations with a very strong, vibrant and interesting culture. You will get to meet and learn about this community, as well as the non-Haida community. The entire island community tends to be very creative and ecologically minded. If you are an artist, writer or musician, you will find like-minded people here, The hiking and paddling and beach-combing is exceptional here and you'll learn much about this region's unique botany and geological history. You will become acquainted with one of the most beautiful expanses of nature anywhere. If you're lucky, you might even see some whales!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I’d love 10 to 20 hours a week of help (depending on what kind of workaway format you want) with cleaning, cooking, gardening/weeding and taking care of our house, and possibly helping me re-paint, construct a glass-bottle "stackwall" fence and/or other updates. Also, I have been hosting regular “pop-up” dinners for the community, to raise money for local charities—I convert part of our house into a temporary “restaurant” for local people and visitors to enjoy while giving money to a worthy cause. I would love help in organizing and serving food for these dinners. Before the lockdown, I was involved in working to help two Syrian families in the community with their resettlement in our community, and i hope to do that again after lockdown ends, which you might. be able to help me out with. Depending on the Covid situation and other factors, these dinners might happen once or twice a week, or once a month....once we are allowed to gather again!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I love learning all languages. Je parle français mais j'ai toujours besoin de pratiquer et améliorer... Parlo italiano (ma non molto bene)...language practice and instruction can certainly be part of the deal!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have three separate self-contained suites in our large house, and depending on our rental and family situation, and on the nature & extent of the work you're interested in doing, one of two fairly private bedrooms in our house or for a self-contained guest suite with private bathroom and kitchenette. Whichever one is available, you would also have access to some musical instruments: djambe, full-height acoustic piano, guitar, etc.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    IMPORTANT: Please note that Haida Gwaii is very conscious of the pandemic situation and may be vulnerable to closing off to visitors. You can find updates at gohaidagwaii.ca and haidanation.ca and other websites. We expect to be open later this summer, but it's difficult to predict. If and when you come to Haida Gwaii, be sure to visit the magnificent Haida Heritage Centre, which showcases hand-carved Haida dugout canoes, argillite carvings, button blankets, spruce root weavings and other treasures of past and current Haida culture. You can also explore several long unspoiled beaches and walk along forested trails. This is a rainforest climate, so even in summer you might not get many hot days, but when you do get a hot day then you can swim in the Pacific ocean. You can also rent a kayak and paddle out to the nearby islands. Local public transportation is limited, but our house is right near the centre of Queen Charlotte Village so you can walk anywhere in town from here. You can also borrow my bicycle. To get to the Haida Heritage Centre or Tlell or Masset, you can find out when one of us is going and come along for the ride, or usually you can get a ride with by asking on the local Facebook page. We haven’t had a workaway visitor yet, but when our two daughters were little, from 2002-2007, we had a series of “au-pair” live-in babysitters, who were basically workaway helpers but before “workaway” existed. Every one of these young women seemed to enjoy their Haida Gwaii experience, and we appreciated their help with childcare and their good company.

    More about us: I work at home by myself all day, so I enjoy conversation during my work breaks and evenings. My husband works in other communities much of the time, but when he is here, he is in the opposite situation: he talks and listens to people all day at his work, so when he comes home, he often just needs to take time to be by himself. My 25-year-old sometimes lives in a suite in our house but she may be travelling elsewhere most of the summer.

    This is a non-smoking house and garden, though it’s not our business if you smoke on your free time when you’re not at our home. We love animals but cannot accommodate pets because of my husband’s allergies, unfortunately. Je suis bilingue, plus ou moins, mais je voudrais pratiquer mon français, à fin que je ne l’oublie pas. Parlo italiano; Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch; Jeg tale dansk en smula; I'm hoping to learn some Arabic in the future. I love all languages and would love to learn yours, if you’re not a native English speaker and wish to teach me!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We would like one or two workawayers to each work up to 20 hours per week in exchange for accommodation and three meals a day, OR 10 hours a week if we provide your accommodation & basic amenities and you provide & prepare your own food, OR something in between, which might be the best way for you? I'm open to discussing all kinds of options.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day (often less), 5 days a week.


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 526394694919