Komm zu uns auf unseren Bauernhof in Tundja, Bulgarien



Bisher 138 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  • Beschreibung


    We are situated on the edge of the village 'Ovchi Kladenets'. Last year, which was our first full year here, we built an extension, had a wonderful harvest and had great times with the help of some fantastic volunteers. This year is all about the garden and producing enough food for not only ourselves and guests, but for our pigs, goats and chickens (all for which we keep for either meat, milk or eggs). We also keep bee's now and will be enjoying our own honey later this year.

    Our aim is to eventually be as self-sufficient as possible, growing and eating our own organic food. Living by 'the law of return' we give back to the ground what we take, thereby creating a harmonious balance between man and mud. We are very easy going, we enjoy working, listening to music and enjoy every new experience our change in lifestyle throws at us! There is no such thing as ‘cant’ or ‘it’s too hard’, we will have a go at anything.

    For our guests we have a two double rooms and a twin room. There is also the possibility of camping. Toilet and sink is outdoors, and we have a main kitchen and eating areas inside and out. We use only composting toilets (the law of return) and have an indoor shower for the cold times and an outdoor solar shower for the summer. All of our grey water goes onto the land to water various plants/trees (so no harsh chemicals are used here). We want our guests to feel comfortable and at home. We have limited internet (in the form of a USB dongle) which you can use for no more than half an hour a week to check emails on your own computer.

    Before we came here, we both lived in England. Baz did a lot of travelling all over the world for a few years before working in a bar and then a warehouse. I, Steff, have worked in bars and restaurants since I left school. As you can see this is a big exciting change into the world of veg and animals, and we are loving every minute. You can see photos and blogs of what we are doing on facebook, and even see the reviews from our guest book, search for 'Frog Shadow Ltd'.

    A bit of village info……there is no ATM here and you can buy cigarettes in the village but not tobacco or rolling products (the house is no smoking and an ashtray MUST be used). There are shops where you can buy shower products, beer and other various items if you need them (we dont provide these things).

    While here you will be working in the garden (weeding, planting, digging, harvesting, etc.....), helping with the animals (mucking out, feeding, etc....), making preserves (jam, jarring fruit and veg, making wine, rakia, cider, syrups etc...), helping with minor repairs, general cleaning and tidying, preparing animals for the freezer (at the right time of year). We would not ask you to do anything we haven't done ourselves, and if you dont feel comfortable doing a particular task just let us know. Working days are 5 out of 7, and we expect volunteers to clean up after themselves and help with the cooking and washing up at weekends (including cleaning volunteer accommodation). Because we live on a farm and mice can be a problem when encouraged, we ask that no food is left lying around in the house (including volunteer rooms). Hours of work vary every day depending on the weather and what needs doing, so one day we might work 4/5 hours, another we might work 9/10. Generally whoever cooks, cooks for everyone and we take it in turns on the washing up.

    We are looking for happy, energetic people with a willingness to learn and join in with our lifestyle. If you love animals and working outdoors (in all weather), dont mind the flies and are up for just about anything......we would love to have you.

    We look forward to meeting some of you soon, and to those we don't.......happy travels!

    Peace and Love
    Steff and Baz :D

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Arbeit


    working in the garden, cleaning, preserving, helping with minor repairs and working with the animals.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Bulgarian: Grundkenntnisse
    English: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    we have beds sleeping up to 6 people. we have a solar shower for summer, composting toilets and wood heating for the cold months. a washing machine is also available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are buses from Yambol, Elhovo and Stara Zagora that stop in our village. If you look on the avtogara website it will tell you the bus times.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    no more than 25 hours a week

podding the peas
Primrose - our mummy goat and chief milk supplier
steff and elly plastering the kitchen to be
dancing to make mulberry wine
enjoying a tasty home produced evening meal
making brooms
some of the potato harvest 2013
a well earned beer at mimi's bar
making red and green tomato chutney
fresh bread in the outdoor oven

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 521912919523