Experience the unique small-village life and help with our renovation project in Skálavík, Faroe Islands

Country

Faroe Islands

Bisher 123 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.11.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small family of three + a dog called Leika. Martin Karl 48, Birita 41 and Jákup 14. In our daily life we live and work in Tórshavn. Martin Karl as vice principal and Birita as schoolteacher. In the summerperiode we move to the small village of Sandoy - Skálavík. In Skálavík we have bought an old building, which we renovate. The building has been in Birita's family for four generations and has a rich history. The summer of 2018 we opened a café in a part of the building, which will be open this summer too. The rest of the building needs at total renovation - inside and out. We do it as a family project, but could very much need some extra pare of hands with a lot of things.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In Skálavík you will experience the uniq small-village life. In Skálavík live 120 people.
    At the same time you will have the opportunity to travel around all the islands in your sparetime. We will help you with all the practical stuff :) To make sure you get the best out of it.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are in the middle of a renovation project. At the same time we run a café.
    We need help with all kind of renovationwork, such as painting, building, gardening etc - depending on what you are good at.
    Birita is mostly running the café, while Martin Karl is taking care of the renovation.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Danish: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Faroese: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be living as a member of our family, and will have your own bedroom in our house. We work all day long, so a part of the time you will have the house for your self :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your spare time you can travel in Sandoy or the other islands to see as much as you like. If you like to work longer one day, so you can get more days off to travel, that is fine with us :)

    The Faroes are known for their beautiful mountainous nature, small communities and most friendly inhabitants. The climate presents a most unique experience for travellers. You can experience all seasons in one day. You can experience streams running upwards because of strong winds, Another thing special is the spectacular view of the ocean. Most inhabitants have an oceanview.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 519327827169