1 / 2

DIY and natural straw-bale building, North Carolina, USA

  • Bisher 42 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 10 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I need some help with DIY projects, organizing, minor landscaping/gardening, and all aspects of building a natural straw bale and clay plaster home with an adobe floor and living roof. You will live in a tiny house on the property, eat good food, and experience a relaxed, fun, accepting atmosphere, as well as the frequent entertainment of my very silly dog, Rocky, the B'ug (Boston Terrier-Pug mix).

    I currently live in a conventional home, but I am building my natural straw-bale home on a nearby wooded multi-acre site in Cherokee County, North Carolina, USA (approximately 15 minutes southwest of Murphy, NC). My workaway project includes minor renovations of the tiny home, which I will use as an art studio and guest house after my home is finished, and all aspects of building a straw bale home. Most of the natural building activities will take place in 2025 via workshops led by natural building expert Sigi Koko. Work-away guests can participate in any workshops conducted during their stay.

    My long-range goal is to live a simple, natural life in a non-toxic home with dogs, chickens, guineas, goats, and a small garden with flowers, herbs, and vegetables.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    1. Learn about natural building and DIY projects: I have completed five courses in natural building, and I am working with a natural building architect with more than 20 years experience. I also have a collection of books on natural building. I am an avid Do-It-Yourself-er -- I love power tools, and I know how to use them. I am happy to teach you, but I take safety very seriously. 2. Learn to cook: I enjoy cooking food as much as eating it, and I am happy to share my kitchen with you. 3. Learn about nonprofit management and nonprofit organizational grant-seeking: I have a master's degree in Nonprofit Management and certificates in Management and Leadership, as well as more than twenty years experience as a nonprofit executive and highly-successful grant-writer. I would love to share my knowledge and help you hone your skills. 4. Learn/refine your English language and writing skills: I am an experienced writer and editor. 5. Learn/practice/co-create art: I am an artist who enjoys many different mediums. I create animal portraits in watercolor and acrylic; I make found object art; I carve; I weave; I make jewelry; I knit; I build; and I would be delighted to teach you anything I know while encouraging your creative expression! 6. Have fun! I'm a happy, laid-back, peace-loving hippie-type who loves to laugh, learn, and create. I want positive energy in my life and in this project. Let's have some fun together! 7. I am a native of North Carolina, and I would LOVE to share the history, beauty, and culture of our state. I can be your NC tour guide.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Natural Building Project help: Building techniques will include straw bale, cob, and light clay straw (aka slip straw), with some scavenged/salvaged/reclaimed items along the way. Depending on the stage of the construction during your stay, workaway travelers may be building sifting panels, digging or sifting sand and clay, making and building with cob (a mixture of clay, sand, straw, and water), stacking straw bales, clay plastering walls, installing a natural roof, laying an earthen floor, or anything else that needs to be done to complete the build.

    DIY & Landscaping Project help: interior painting, building/assembling a chicken coop and rabbit hutch, setting up a raised bed garden, planting, upgrading the outdoor shower, creating a paver pathway, and other projects.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    As a professional writer, I can help you refine your English skills, and I would love to work on my Spanish. I know a few words and phrases in Spanish, but I want to practice and get better.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The tiny house has accommodated up to five people (two upstairs and three downstairs) but I don't recommend it. There is a queen-size mattress in the loft and a bunk bed (one up, one down) with a pull-out trundle bed underneath on the main floor. The small kitchen includes a gas stove and oven, a sink, a full-size refrigerator, a combination washer/dryer (although there is a clothesline outdoors), and a wall pantry. There is a mini-split AC unit, but the house is not particularly well-insulated. There is a half bath (sink and toilet) indoors and a shower and second toilet outdoors. Let me reiterated that -- the shower is outdoors, although it does have hot water. I am happy to provide food and cook some meals, but would appreciate your input on the menu and welcome your participation in meal preparation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you are a smoker or you vape, do not apply. Seriously. Don't.

    The North Carolina/north Georgia/east Tennessee mountains are gorgeous. Hike, explore waterfalls, go whitewater rafting, tubing, enjoy several nearby lakes, and quaint small towns. You are about an hour and a half to two hours from Atlanta, Chattanooga, Knoxville, and Asheville. In addition to the breathtaking beauty of the natural surroundings, the local area has plenty of restaurants, bakeries, shopping, farmers markets, art, theatre, breweries, wineries, etc.

    I am accepting of all lifestyle choices and encourage you to be yourself in all your beautiful glory. I love music and laughter. I don't mind drinking, but I don't like drunks. I won't tolerate illegal drugs or mean/unhappy people.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have reliable, unlimited fiberoptic internet access at the tiny home and build site.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    If you have a small to medium RV, you can stay at the build site, although the driveway is long, winding, and hilly. I have 30 amp and 50 amp hookups; however, I would not recommend a large RV there unless you are a very experienced RV driver. There is also a sewer hook-up at the RV site, as well as a working, modern-day out-house if you just want a little extra privacy.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Maybe. Friendly, house-trained dogs are a possibility. Let's discuss it.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day (except during workshops which will involve full days), 5 days a week, but I also like to have fun.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 517794428644

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Come share time with our family in Wisconsin, USA
Help with home projects in Olympia, USA