Experience farm life in Pamplie, rural France



Bisher 287 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Hi, we are Pete and Jen and we run a small farm in Pamplie in the Deux Sevres region of rural France. Our animals include sheep, chickens, goats, ducks, geese, guinea fowl, rabbits and turkeys and the others that we don’t eat- 3 dogs including Wallis a very naughty Gordon setter Ginny a rescue Newfoundland, a very large rescue Saint Bernard called Moose and 3 cats..
    We moved here in 2010 to get out of the "rat race" and now having almost completed our renovations we are now "living our dream" and living “the good life” . Our 3 bedroom farmhouse is set in a peaceful and quiet location with beautiful countryside surrounding us, but our passion is our animals.

    When the weather allows we spend most of our time outdoors with the animals and maintaining our land. For us our animals are our top priority as well as our source of food which we hatch, dispatch and prepare ourselves.

    When we are not working we like to cook, bake and make things and will be happy to share our knowledge with you. Pete does all our butchery and we enjoy making our own sausages, bacon, burgers, hams etc and from our garden produce we make jams, chutneys. Pete has occasionally been known to make beer and cider. We are self sufficient..ish so we eat what we have, when we have it. Which can be restrictive if your a fussy eater or eat little meat.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are happy to share our knowledge and experiences of our self sufficient lifestyle. This includes organic vegetable growing, producing our own milk (etc) and production of our own meat however this very much depends on time of year, availablity and weather. No one has left us yet without taking away new skills!

  • Arbeit


    Like any farm different times of year give us different jobs and challenges but there is always plenty to keep us (and you if you choose to come and stay) busy. There is always mucking out to do and the animals need feeding regardless of the day of the week or the weather.
    Animals – lambing which may include bottle feeding lambs, shearing (we have tried and its harder than it looks), feet trimming, ear tagging, worming, daily feeding, mucking out and milking the goat
    Garden and poly tunnel – rotovating, digging, planting watering and weeding (and more weeding) so we can eat fresh vegetables and fruit in season and also preserve etc for later in the year. We also have a yearly trip (end Sept/Oct) or two to the local apple press to make our own juice.
    The rest of the land requires us to do hedge cutting, grass cutting, felling trees, removing brambles well as putting up and maintaining fences.
    The house – the usual stuff, day to day chores cooking, cleaning and from time to time painting and decorating.
    As with most outdoors tasks It can be hard work and often muddy in winter.

    You will need to be fit and keen and have appropriate footwear/clothing to work on a farm! We do have a few spare pairs of wellies which are essential for some of the dirty jobs and especially for mucking out the sheep and chickens

    We are looking to share our experience with like minded people who are hard working, hands on and are interested in what we do.
    We prefer to host two people at a time but if you are a single workawayer we may still be able to host you along with someone else. If your looking for an extended stay then we have some friends in the nearby Vendee who may be able to host you too. To find them search under "Stay and help at our glamping lodges located in the Sunny Vendee, Pays de la Loire, France."

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is either a twin or double bedroom within our renovated French farmhouse and smallholding set in 5 acres in the beautiful Deux Sevres region of France.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are half an hour from market towns of Parthenay and Saint Maixent L'Ecole and an hour away from the nearest airports and the coast.

    We are able to collect you from either Parthenay, Niort or Saint Maixent L'Ecole.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    In exchange for 25 hours of your time per week, we will offer you your board and lodging including breakfast, lunch and dinner (with a reasonable amount of wine or beer)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 491331767646