English & Spanish communication or digital skills while getting to know a local culture in Luxor, Egypt

  • Bisher 117 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 12 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,

    I'm an Egyptian female in my thirties living in Luxor, with my mother and my brother. Our house is just 15 minutes a walk distance from Luxor railway station. We are a typically Egyptian family. My mother and brother don't speak English but they are welcoming and kind. The main help I need is regarding improving my English pronunciation (with native or fluent English speaker. Background in phonetics would be a bonus) and/or computer literacy skills.

    P.S. We live in a conservative area. It's why I can only host females.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As we live in a very local area, you will see the true face of Luxor. You can find the very poor and the well-paid people living in the same area. There is a local market held every Tuesday. It's a few steps away from our house. There, you can see local people, mainly women, bringing their products (unpasteurized milk, home-made cheese, eggs, vegetables and fruits, pigeons, ducks and more).
    If you're interested in learning Arabic, this is the best place to learn it as many people, my brother included, would love to exchange languages with you here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    If you could help me with any of the following activities, feel free to drop me a message:

    *I need to continue working on my pronunciation with a native or fluent English speaker. I started working on some sounds like: P, S, Z and dʒ with Joanna, one of my favorite guests. I still need more and more practice.
    As I'm hearing impaired, I find it difficult to differentiate these sounds or to spot the mistakes in my pronunciation on my own (generally speaking, most of the consonants on the speech banana).
    Learning how to talk consistently and clearly is something I need to work on too.

    *I need to work on my communication, to speak out about my hearing loss and to educate people on how best to communicate with me. Up to a recent time, I thought all I have to tell people about is that I'm hard of hearing. However, I found out that I have to explain to them what to do/ or not to do so I can hear them better.
    I also need to open up and say things I want or I don't want straightforwardly. This is not easy as I was raised in a way that didn't allow me to express my feelings or to say things explicitly for a long time.

    *Refreshing my "forgotten" Spanish would be like the icing on the cake.

    *I’d like to improve my computer literacy. Any skill might come in handy when I face any trouble with my laptop.

    *Maybe some help on how to get into the field of SEO and social media would be a bonus. I love writing but recently, I've been struggling with writing regularly. Feel free to share any advice on how to keep it as a habit and to improve it.

    *Baking is my new passion. If you could teach me new recipes from your country, it would be great. I'm doing good at baking but I need to improve my cooking skill especially, how to prepare a good tomato sauce. :)

    *My mother lives with Alzheimer. It's really difficult to see her changing in this way and to deal with her dementia. Any advice on how to approach her calmly and gently is appreciated.

    *Finally, any practical tips on how to stop ruminating on the past and deal with low mood is appreciated.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Arabisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Of course, if there's a chance, I'd like to refresh my Spanish along with working on my English speaking skills.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own room. In summer days, the temperatures get extremely hot in Luxor. We have fans, of course, but we don't have air conditioners.
    Our house is quite old and wasn't furbished since I was six. It's why I prefer that we make a video call to show you the place before you make up your mind to come.

    The meals are provided. They are typically Egyptian food. If you want to prepare your own food, the local market is situated in front of the train station where you can find vegetables and fruits. Supermarkets are everywhere. You can use tea or any other herbal drink available in the kitchen.

    Make yourself at home as long as you'll keep the place clean after you're done.

    A last important note: No smoking, No alcohol, No drugs allowed at home!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We're close to the railway station which is close to Luxor temple. Also, microbuses are around so it's easy to pick one to go to Karnak temple. For the west bank attractions, it's better to go early by ferry and from there, you can pick a taxi to Valley of the Kings, Hatshepsut temple or any other places over there.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 487553552157

Feedback (6)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Artistic people and innovative thinkers to help teach our team at a resort in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Help on a small scale mushroom farm in Dahab, Egypt