1 / 5

Organic garden help in Vancouver and salt spring island, Canada

  • Bisher 111 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I have a beautiful big garden in my back yard and greenhouse in Vancouver AND we just bought 2 acres on salt spring to turn into a farm. We don't sell any vegetables any more... we only make food for our family and our extended family but it's still a great way to learn about gardening. I also try to continue my yoga and dance as well both in Vancouver and over on Salt Spring Island. I also grow a huge squash crop on an acreage that you could help me with.

    ***UPDATE FOR 2024 spring **

    I get lots of applications so please tell if you have any farm experience, when you're available and all the lovely things about you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They will get to experience Vancouver which is a wonderful city and occasionally Salt Spring where we have a spring/summer place that needs some serious love! There is lots of dance and music events around and about, they can take off during the week and explore the gulf islands. My family is super sweet and friendly. I have two boys 22 and 18 who are always in and out, hanging with their friends, just generally being teens (don't know if thats a selling point or not!). The home stay would learn about micro greens set up and developing compost systems. I dance a lot and would be willing to take them around to the various dance communities (ecstatic, contact, blues fusion, salsa, Lindy hop), My husband is Portuguese and makes wonderful Portuguese food when he's not working like a fiend haha. He does work like a fiend so we don't see much of him but you would come and go to the salt spring island with me to help with work projects over there.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have a big garden in my back yard and on salt spring island but the workaway person can do as much or as little intense manual labour as they like. (I literally have unlimited manual labour... but they can also wash veg, sort, weed, or clean the house). I have many garden beds in my back yard and my greenhouse needs tending there too!! Work-away person would ideally have to have a good back (cause my back is a bit funky) and be willing to do lots of weeding/watering all this delicious food!! Some ability with small construction projects and power tools helpful but not necessary. we don't sell any veggies so it's all for our personal consumption. We do lots of pickling and you can learn!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The home stay would be sleeping in the front room on the entrance level, sharing a bathroom with my 18 year old boy and my amazing roommate Vignesh (though we have a bathroom on the main floor as well. ) They would have access to our kitchen of course and our living room on the main floor and our back yard. We have a ping pong table right smack dab in our living room. We live in a sweet East Vancouver neighbourhood with many friendly neighbours. We also have a young, CUTE cat called Mittens.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are close to a sky train station (Broadway and Commercial) that can take you anywhere in the city quickly and easily. There is also a major bus route (the 99) which connects the east side to the west side. We live close to Trout Lake, so there is very sweet walking and sometimes swimming in the lake when the water is good. There is a market there every Saturday which we like to go to when we have time. The home stay can sometimes use our van if that works, there's only one car for the family so we all share and can make it work I'm sure. Also homestay is welcome to use our bikes.

    We are largely paleo (so lots of meat and veggies), although open to all kinds of different diets and habits. Homestay must be ok with the smell of bacon though! (Some vegan folks in the past really weren't ok with the smell of bacon.. but it's not everyday I promise). No smoking in the house please but outside ok. We are generally a fun-loving home, lots of people coming and going. I do a lot of yoga and meditation (at 5:30 am) to keep myself cool, calm and collected! I

    I cannot offer payment.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our Wifi works fine. Digital nomads are welcome.... If you're good with tech in fact I could use some coaching. That might could be part of our exchange. We offer no money cause w sell no veggies.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Midday until four/ three or 4 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 486194147735

Feedback (7)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Community concept project by the water in Entrelacs, Quebec, Canada
Help with some garden projects in Kaslo, BC, Canada