Exciting cultural exchange in a semi-rural community in Kisumu, Kenya

Country

Kenia

aktualisiert  

Bisher 25 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Nicholas, 45 years old. Married with two boys. I'm the founder of a project. My education background is social work and project management. I have over 25 years working with international organization in Kenya, South Sudan and Eritrea with street children, women youth refugees and internally displaced persons.

    I had this passion of starting an organization in my own village as away of giving back. Therefore, I decided to leave active employment in 2015 and the following years, the Sophia Foundation was born, with focus on talent development through art and economic empowerment of widows.
    So far we have made some little progress by putting up a community centre to conduct art classes and and gave out 15 small animals (sheep/goats to widows in Pap Onditi community. Currently, widows are engaged in weekly table banking, basket making and offering small loans to widows involved in small businesses to boost their businesses.
    We are a registered community based organisation based in Pap Onditi, Kisumu City, at the shore of lake Victoria, Kenya.
    We are a community which is open, friendly and loves visitors. We always participate together during cultural functions as a way of solidarity. We are a community which fish is the main dish because of nearest to Lake Victoria but we also have variety of food.
    At our project site we grow variety of vegetables, fruits and crops for home consumption and our volunteers usually love to eat.
    Pap Onditi is a semi village a quite place and conducive environment for work. We have a flat, building for volunteers accommodation with running water and electricity. It's a place to be.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They will benefit in many ways, like have new friends, learn new languages, cook and try new foods, they will attend community cultural activities to understand our cultures and way of life.
    As the founder of the organization, I will be available to help and teach them about our cultures, way of life, our languages, food and show them around, visit some of the tourist sites around. I will work together with them most of the time and share meals together all the time with my family to build a family bond and just connect beyond volunteering.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our organization is focused on women empowerment initiative and develop and nurture talents of children through art, sport, painting, music. We will welcome help in the following areas :
    - work with women on table banking, savings and loaning scheme, help develop new ideas on microfinance, conduct training on relevant business needs.
    -together help identify and initiate other microfinance areas to help build their capacity
    -Plan activities together with the centre staff.
    -Teach art (drawing, moulding, singing, dancing, painting... or language classes.
    -Give talks to widows on development related issues.
    -Home visit to children or widows and develop their profiles and situations at their homes.
    -Develop documentaries
    -Help in the garden to plant or weed vegetables and fruits.
    -Help with coming once in a while.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a flat with rooms where volunteers can share. There is running water and electricity. We also provide bedsheets and mosquito net.

    We have different types of local foods eaten here. This will be another way of cultural exchange by teaching helpers how to prepare and cook. Through this, they will learn and know how to cook for others. At the same time we will be able to learn to cook their foods.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    They can go to local makets, visit different places around, visit even homes of the beneficiaries. Basically they are free to plan their free time and where to go with the knowledge of the in charge and of cause accompanied by a staff.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a big space to accommodate even a big camper van.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 483151674156