Off-grid living at our bush farm in Kispiox, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 50 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    There are always some projects on the farm!!
    I am happy to have workawayers year round of any age.

    In the winter we would do lots of winter camping -like building tipis with stoves, snow caves, with a fluffy layer of soft Bruce branches to sleep on! There is a mountain right behind my property (I like to call it MY mountain! I’m the only one who goes up there) , we can reach it with skidoos and hike up and do ski touring and sleep at the tiny winter lean-to or build our own!
    The dogs help us pack stuff and pull sleighs, they’re really good little helpers and I really love them. You’ll love them too!
    I love camping in any season, but winter is very special for me.
    I also go cross country ski every night in the forest around me, I built lots of trails and the dogs love to tag along.

    In the fall I generally go hunting , and you’re welcome to come with me and help with the process.

    In the spring you can come help me for The birch syrup season end of March and beginning of April. This consists of tapping the forest trees, emptying the buckets, chopping wood, tending the fire, etc. It is a very busy season for me but also a lot of fun and you will get to learn loads while you are here! All the material I use is stainless steel or aluminium, no plastic, and it is a traditional method, all outside.
    It’s also a good season for foraging fiddle heads and sting needle !
    The lake defrosts and we can canoe on it.

    In the summer there is more gardening , steady gardening! And lots of tractor driving.
    I love fishing too and we can go every night at the creeks or lake for cutthroat ! I can definitely teach you and you can eat your own fish .
    There are horses around the property too in the summer.

    Year round I need help chopping wood (I have various techniques, from classic to ‘splitting with the feet’. Some workawayers really enjoy falling the forest dead trees (I don’t want to cut fresh green I wish to preserve the forest as much as I can) , with chain saw and axe, they are very tall and it’s very majestic to see them falling (watch out you’ll better not be in the way!)

    There are two properties in the town of Kispiox, one in front with electricity and the other where I live is off-grid. There is 328 acres in total. With the hay and the vegetables I produce, I am working about 100 acres. I live in a small cabin with a woodstove. I also have a garden where I grow other vegetables for my own use as well as lots of perennial berry bushes. The property has a creek running through it, and has a large wooded area in addition to the pasture land.

    I use local soil from the forest to supplement my gardens. I do not use manure or any chemical fertiliser. I do not spray, I do not use pesticides, insecticides, or herbicides. I use a tractor and other machinery to work the soil and harvest.

    I am a wry skilled carpenter, and there is lots to learn here with wood and carpentry.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They will learn about living a simple life- sustainable, organic, off-grid, as well as bush living. They will have the chance to experience northern Canadian rural life.
    Timber framing ,bush craft ,winter camping ,wild medicine plant ,foraging,
    In winter stay skiing in the alpine ,skidooing crost COUNTRY ski ,snow shoeing ,,,
    Yes I take winter long stay and short
    I am in search and rescue..SWIFTWATER technician,ice rescue ,avalanche level 2 ..wilderness first aid .tracking and more ,,I teach fire making and survival...
    Making organic bush food from garden and forage hunting also fishing ..
    If interested to become a gardener that sale at the farmers market I can give the opportunity
    To have a cabine whit or whit out electricity for one year to try made a living as a farmer ..
    On a other property that I have on time exchange for equipment used ..
    Also working whit horse farming ..

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    From the picking and processing berries to harvesting potatoes, carrots, and beets. Helping out with the farmer's market. Taking care of the horses. Weeding and planting. Assisting with the hay. Chopping wood. Driving tractor. Building with wood and carpentry. Building shelters. Packing material up the mountain.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a cabin for volunteers not far from the main house by a lake. It is small simple but has a stove and a great view.a sauna by the creck ,,and one more cabin also The food will be shared and is all organic, mostly potatoes and salad from the garden supplemented with moose meat ...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a creek and lake to swim in, and forest to explore. The property is 30 minutes from the town of Hazelton which has a movie theater, bakery, and library. I do not eat gmo food or artificial sugar. I have two dogs, two horses,have internet access, and do not smoke.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 482154567819