Join us on Crete for building, craftsmaking, teaching and permaculture, Heraklion, Greece

Country

Griechenland

Bisher 191 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.10.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of five, with Greek and Swedish origin, consisting of my partner and me, our 13year old daughter and her grandparents.
    We live in the beautiful heart of Crete, off the beaten tracks. The mountains are nearby as well as the beaches in the south and the town of Heraklion in the north. The area is characterized as being of particular natural beauty.
    If you wish to explore Crete this is the perfect place.

    Do you want to join us for a shorter or a longer stay?

    For the moment we welcome skilled builders and crafts people and for certain projects we offer payment.
    We will be happy to host families with children and adults that can help us with homeschooling.

    THE PLACE
    On the 5 acres of land is a small distillery and a straw bale building. We gather in the beautiful, fully equipped communal kitchen. It s got a huge verandah with breathtaking views. We cook with organic, fresh and sometimes wild ingredients.
    There is a permaculture plan designed for this place that we implement in stages.
    Over 100year old olive trees intertwine with oak trees and wild vegetation. The small vineyards carry different varieties of grapes and there are olive trees of varying sizes. Grandfather who plants trees of all sorts, tends to his fruit trees and cooks the best of meals. The chicken are free range and there are goats, cats and dogs.

    ABOUT US
    We are an open hearted family who like meeting people. We wish for community where can share, inspire and support each other while having fun. We also need our privacy at times. We are solution oriented and inclusive.

    OUR VISION
    We want our actions to support the earth to self-heal and to continue to be the beautiful home to us and to so many other species.
    We are downscaling the production of our small distillery and aim to make tinctures for healing purposes instead. We intend to run workshops on issues that make a difference.
    We wish for community, others to settle here, either long term or short term, also homeschooling families.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    WITH US:
    -Passive solar design, building physics/organic materials. Permaculture design and implementation.
    -The art of distillation.
    -Grafting and life on Crete in older times.
    -Everything chicken form our daughter Kristina, she is an expert.
    - Cretan cuisine and homesteading, healing plants and tinctures.
    -We try to keep a rhythm in Yoga and Mindfulness practice. Shiatsu.
    -We will be happy to help you with the cultural exchange you are interested in.

    THE VILLAGE
    Prinias is a 3 minute walk away. It is a picturesque traditional village with two ''kafeneions'' , run by Rena and Evangelia, where the locals meet over a coffee, sometimes a raki with a meze or a meal. There is one Mini Market with the basics.

    THE AREA / HISTORY:
    -Discover the ancient winepresses in the valley, carved out on the rocks and dating back to late Minoan times.
    -The archaeological site of Rizinia and the small church of Agios Panteleimon is on the opposite hill.
    -Take the map and trek to Agios Thomas, searching for the numerous old byzantine churches on your way.
    -Phaestos palace is a 25km drive and ancient Gortys 15km (bus connection going south)
    -The Minoan Palace of Knossos is close to Heraklion and the archaeological museum hosts the many findings from Knossos as well as the excavations from our area (bus connection)

    WINERIES:
    We are in a wine district and wine roads of Crete and you can take small trips to the nearby wineries and taste excellent Cretan wines.

    NATURE and TREKKING:
    The village is situated near the foot of mount Psiloritis with interesting landscape and vegetation. Depending on season you can admire the tiny orchids or pick oregano, thyme and other wild plants.
    Trek the E4 up to Prions mountain shelter or walk up one of the hills to catch a view of both the north and south seas at the same time.
    Pass the gorge from the forest of Rouvas that ends near the lake of Zaros.
    Or even better, take a walk to the foot of the mountain, sit down on a rock and listen to the silence.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We offer payment depending on the project and the duration.

    CARPENTRY
    Carpenter with an eye for detail, skilful hands and problem-solving abilities.
    Woodwork includes Pergolas, Tiny houses, Animal sheds and Furniture.
    Some remaining work on the straw bale house.
    A variety of tools and Machinery is available on site.

    Organic materials, stone, bamboo, straw, clay, lime, hydraulic lime...

    ELECTRICAL and PLUMBING
    Electrician for outlets and internet connection.
    A heating system is in place and needs to be tuned with the hot water from the distillation process.
    Plumber for grey water system, irrigation, outside showers
    PV: Planning and implementation.

    OTHERS
    Paving and Groundworks. Landscaping, Ornamental Plants, Fencing

    DISTILLATION
    Would you like to learn the art of distillation taking over one of the daily 5hour circles?
    In September is the grape harvest and then for some months every autumn/winter we do the distillation.
    You don t need to have knowledge in the distillation itself, we will teach you, but high responsibility and alertness is a must as well as experience in simple mechanics and a multitasking attitude.

    HOMESCHOOLING
    Teaching, doing Crafts and the Arts also in conjunction to the projects we are up to.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Greek: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer accommodation in the village, in the attic of the communal kitchen or in the tiny house that is now being refurbished. Place for Campervans. Tents for camping.
    For the moment the hot water shower is located outside and we use composting toilets.
    Breakfast and meals in the kitchen.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    LOCAL BUSES
    The local bus passes Prinias three times daily and every hour from Agia Varvara, going to Heraklion or to the south.

    NEARBY VILLAGES
    The bigger village of Agia Varvara is 3km away and it has a Health Center, a Bank, Super Markets, a Post office tavernas and cafes etc. The bus passes approximately every hour.
    Asites has a taverna with a warm atmosphere and excellent traditional Cretan cuisine.

    AFTERNOONS and EVENINGS
    We gather in the communal kitchen, go to the kafeneion in the village, or head down to the beaches in the south.
    We usually drive to Heraklion once a week. Sometimes we need to withdraw to catch up with ourselves and our cores. Every now and then, there will be more work awayers here to join.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes wired internet.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Upon agreement with you. Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 471693852674