Animal lover to help with the day-to-day running of our cat sanctuary in Castelo Branco, Central Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Bisher 99 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 29 Mai 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We are Greg and Sara and we have a cat sanctuary in Central Portugal. We moved to Portugal five years ago, built our home near a village in Castelo Branco and opened up our home to animals that need help. We take in and care for neglected and disabled cats and kittens who normally would not stand a chance. We like them to live a normal life in a safe, loving environment. There are a lot of neglected and abandoned cats and kittens here who deserve so much more than to die on the streets.

    This cat sanctuary, is a non-profit organisation to help cats (and sometimes dogs) who have been abandoned, traumatised or who suffer with illnesses / conditions such as blindness or cerebellar hypoplasia (wobbly cat syndrome), and many other things. The sanctuary receives no government or council funding to assist with neutering and vet costs. We have made good connections with vets around the area, and work with them to support and look after cats that cannot be re-homed due to their needs. Our dream for these cats is for them to lead a happy life where they can be free to be themselves and not in cages or on the street.

    Our sanctuary is in a beautiful part of rural Portugal where locals are very friendly. There are lots of places to explore and visit and it is an easy walk to the nearest village where there are a couple of cafe/bars, post office and village shop.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We will be able to share animal care skills and building skills. We are happy to learn new skills too. We can help with local knowledge of the area and you will be able to meet others around us.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for one person to volunteer to help with the day to day duties of the cat sanctuary. Being an animal lover is a must. You will be part of our big family and will be helping us with feeding the cats, litter trays, a bit of tidying up around the house, sharing the cooking of evening meals, walking the dogs and maybe helping with some DIY jobs and maintenance. The main thing is to be there giving love and time to the cats in our care. You will be required to work about 4 and a half to 5 hours per day for 5 days a week. Mainly in the morning for a few hours and then late afternoon early evening as this is the busy time when all the feeding takes place. We are fairly flexible on the hours and you will definitely get free time for yourself to go out exploring or chill out.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We are offering a room which is separate from the house so you will have your own space. Although you may have to share with a cat or two. There is a mezzanine with a single bed. There is access to toilet, shower and cooking facilities in the house. At certain times of the year the water in our well is low and we have to be careful how much we use, so showering may not be possible every day. There will also be outdoor cooking facilities. We are also happy for someone to come in their own campervan or tent if preferred and we have plenty of space for this. As we are in a very rural area the internet is good for social media, emails, you tube etc but not for downloading or anyone wishing to work online. We do not want someone who wants free accommodation and food but then expects to be able to work for their employers whilst they are here. We also do not want anyone who wants to be on their phone all day. Our priority is the cats so we need someone who will fit around their needs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The sanctuary is about half a kilometre from the village and is quite rural. The nearest town is Penamacor which is about 9 kilometres and nearest city, Castelo Branco is about 40 kilometres away. There are river beaches and lots of places to explore but you will need a vehicle to get to. We can offer the use of a bicycle if you want to go to the village or explore the local tracks. We can also offer a ride to other places at times too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of space available for campervans and tents.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 457856962747

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help with gardening and DIY on the beautiful Azorean Island of Santa Maria, Portugal
Join me on a beautiful quinta, ten minutes from Lagos and the beach in the Algarve, Portugal