Help needed at an old watermill lakeside house and holiday cottage with grounds and animals in Gorron, France

Country

Frankreich

aktualisiert  

Bisher 75 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello my name is Sue. My place is a very old former watermill that sits on the banks of its own small lake. Set in large gardens with extra land including a small wood, it is a beautiful countryside setting but with a small village about 20 minutes walk away. Next door to my house is an old cottage I let out to holidaymakers. I live with my two dogs, three cats, six ducks and four chickens. Also the lake is very well stocked with carp and other species and you would be welcome to do some fishing while you are here.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am British but I speak reasonable French and would be happy to give beginners French lessons. I spent nearly 30 years as a teacher both in the UK and in Kenya, teaching A level sociology so culture is a way of life and a lifelong passion.
    I am always happy to learn new things, keen on history ( lots of Medieval castles and towns locally) live music ( especially jazz and rock) and film ( there is a lovely little local cinema that regularly shows English films, cheap too!) art and sculpture (Rbert Tatin museum is nearby and there are lots of exhibitions) and I would be happy for travellers to visit places with me.
    Lots of sporting and outdoors activities locally. We have a local football team, there is swimming pool, water rafting, and paintball in the small town that is five minutes in the car or fifteen minutes by bike ( I have three in the barn)
    My own ' sport' is dancing. I go line dancing and ballroom dancing every week. A ballroom dancing partner would be wonderful ( but not compulsory! )

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Ideally someone who has experience of DIY! But anybody who is willing to get stuck in and help with the general running and maintenance would be most appreciated! If you are handy with a paintbrush that would help too! Some examples of possible projection thaïs year include, sprucing up the duck house on duck island and perhaps building a jetty for the rowing boat. Laying gravel, paving slaps and decking around the back and side of the house. Decorating in the house and cottage, including old wooden ceilings. Digging, planting and cutting the grass. Oh and the chickens could do with a nicer house! Not all these jobs will get done! They never do but it's fun trying and this is a beautiful place......

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    I speak English and reasonable French.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    My house has three up stairs bedrooms so travellers have a choice of a single or double room. The bathroom is not ensuite but is on the landing and for your sole use.
    The accommodation is comfortable but not luxury as the house still needs a lot of work, so please be prepared for that. I'm generally described as a decent cook! Breakfast is fairly simple, cereal, toast, and fresh eggs. Main meal lunchtime and then an evening meal/ supper. Plenty of tea and coffee breaks, usually with cakes! The grounds are full of fruit trees and bushes so you can just help yourself, in season to plums, cherries, black currants, apples and pears.
    The house, though a bit shabby chic, has a great wi-fi connection, a tv with British free- view channels, there is a table tennis table and darts in the barn. In fine weather meals are often taken outside on the terrace overlooking the lake and the barbecue is very well used!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a big British community locally so there are three British run pubs locally that do open mic nights, pub quizzes and a variety of different events like curry nights. The local French are extremely friendly and there are a number of lovely local resturants serving very reasonably priced food. This is good walking and cycling country, there are some fantastic local markets and lots of local events. For instance, the local botanical gardens has a honey making festival in the Spring and another one for pumpkins in the Autumn. There is always something to go/ do/ see here at the weekends. Oh and the world famous Le Mans is just over an hour away as is Le Mont St Michel, France's top tourist attraction. A car is good for getting about as public transport is limited but a bike will do to visit the local town and surrounding villages.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 441795763219