Help with building projects and forest work in the majestic Rocky Mountains, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 174 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We recently moved back home to BC, Canada from Europe and purchased a large beautiful acreage located between Golden and Radium Hot Springs. We're building a wilderness retreat and eventually our own home that will be made with as many natural materials as possible and utilize alternative building practices including traditional/old school building techniques, strawbale, rammed earth, earthship and passive.

    Initially, our projects include things like:
    - Cleaning up dead wood in the forest and chopping firewood
    - Felling trees and transporting them
    - Helping prepare wood for building
    - Helping build a cabin using traditional techniques
    - Brush cutting and lawnmowing

    Until we can build some guest cabins, we will have glamping cabin tents and dome tent accommodation and a small rustic cabin for meals. The land is raw at the moment, with the exception of the seasonal small cabin where we live and a garage.
    The cabin is great for relaxing on the deck, cooking or a shower in the outdoor heated shower with mountain views (the toilet is an outhouse). There is power to charge your phone/laptop etc and there is internet/wi-fi but very limited to no cell service. Our plan in the summer is to continue to build our first cabin. We have used all our own wood that we've cut, stripped, milled and prepared.

    We plan to build several cabins around the property each removed and with it's own special setting. Once each cabin is done it will be another room for workawayers and volunteers. We've attached a couple of pictures to give you an idea of the look and feel of what we're going for (these are marked as "project plan ideas").

    The gardens will use permaculture principles to work with nature and produce food for the whole year which gets processed for winter keeping (dried, pickled, canned and will be one day stored in a root cellar).

    We have a year round creek and the land is surrounded by a forest that goes into the backcountry and mountains with lots of trails to explore. The Columbia River and wetlands is just down the way where you can paddle or visit one of the many swimming lakes just 20min away, towards the famed Bugaboos. There's a couple of great small local cafe's selling locally produced food just a few minutes drive away and a honey farm next door.

    Adam and I love to travel and have lived across various continents, towns and islands around the globe. We love meeting like-minded travelers who appreciate nature, sustainability, building or growing their own food and enjoy sharing our little paradise. We are continually working to improve our land and construct outbuildings and looking for helpers with some level of experience with manual labor, old school wood building in the forest with wood collected from and milled on the property. We're mostly self sufficient and if we don't know how to do something we try to learn and happy to share our knowledge.

    We have a very energetic rescue dog who's 6 going on 2. "Cujo the hound" is always around so if you don't like animals this isn't the stay for you. He was rescued when he was 3 months old and has some funny quirks. He's a super active hunting dog mix with who knows what and love to fetch ball (he could do this all day). Otherwise he loves to snuggle in the evening or lay in a sunny spot in the day once he's burnt off his energy :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Beautiful setting in to mountains, hikes, swimming lakes, surrounded by nature and a great place to get away from the mayhem. We like to take trips to the local lakes or Invermere lake and hike in the Bugaboo Park which you are invited to join.

    Food - Mateja cooks everything from scratch with a focus on farm to table and you can learn how to make things like bread, vinegar, sauces, jams and lots of other delicious things. We have a European approach to food which is about sharing and getting together. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided which is a great time for everyone to relax and share stories.
    Adam worked for a builder and is a jack of all trades. He's spent the last few years learning about alternative building and together we can create more sustainable structures and learn as we go. The area we live in has no zoning/codes which makes it really unique and a blank canvas which is a great way to learn and try new techniques.
    Growing food - most of the food is grown on the land and provides an opportunity to learn about growing and seed collection.

    Our workaway is all about being self sufficient in a modern world and the great feeling that a community brings.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Adam and I, usually work long days and have a lot on so we are very grateful for any help.

    The projects in the spring are all building, clearing and forest work focused.
    - Building structures/cabins
    - Felling trees, cutting them into logs and transporting them to the sawmill
    - Collecting and preparing firewood
    - Brush cutting/clearing and lawnmowing

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Croatian: Fließend
    Slovenian: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depends when you arrive:
    Summer 2022 - Option 1 - Comfortable tents with brand new mattresses. Option 2 - bring your own tent, camper or van.
    We have an outdoor hot shower and outhouse.
    We include all bedding, pillows and blankets to make your stay comfortable as well as towels and things like shampoo and soaps etc.
    2023 - Communal cabin with a kitchen and rustic bathroom/outhouse
    Note: We collect water from the spring & creek and use gravity fed water. It's not like opening a tap and not for everyone.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    30min south of Golden BC, coffee shop/wine shop with gourmet foods and a small cafe 10 min away, gas station 10min away with basic supplies. Some amazing lakes are just a short drive away, you can try hangliding nearby, spend the day at Lake Invermere (we go there often) , hike one of the many trails or rock climb in the Bugaboos.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have wifi but until we build more structures there is limited space to work but it can be done.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yes we have loads of space and a campground not far to dump greywater etc

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 428888864742