Learn about organic gardening, helping at our home on the edge of the Wicklow Mountains, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 273 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.06.2022

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,

    I'm Michael, my husband and I and our two children (12 and 13) live in an old house in County Wicklow out in the woods on the southern edge of the Wicklow Mountains, but only an hour from Dublin city centre. We're a family of four humans, two dogs, four cats, eight chickens, and some four alpacas.

    We try our best to live by organic principles and don't use any poisons or pesticides. We're surrounded by woods with lots of great hiking trails all around us, Glendalough is 5 km away, the Wicklow Way is very close by, Brittas Bay is nearby too. Although the nearest village is 5km way there's also a wonderful hike through the woods to the village, and if you want to explore locally we do have bicycles. Lots to see and do here but we are out in the country so its a quiet lifestyle.

    We're interested in hosting people who want to work out in the garden and generally help outside, or who like to cook, or who'd be interested in helping teach the kids Spanish, French or German.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We hope visitors to our property will learn about organic gardening techniques and principles including composting, making organic fertiliser from nettles, growing seed and using homemade non-toxic sprays to control weeds.
    We're keen to help any visitors improve their english language skills and perhaps even teach them some gaeilge (irish language), and show them some traditional Irish food and drink.
    The ancient monastic settlement of Glendalough is only 5km from our house. Visitors can explore the site and learn about a part of Ireland's rich history.
    Wicklow town is about 15km away and has a great exhibit in the old jail that showcases more recent Irish history and features some famous locals too.
    Wicklow is full of ancient monuments and standing stones and is right in the heart of Ireland's Ancient East. It's right here on our doorstep just waiting to be explored.
    Additionally we are surrounded by walking trails and hikes so visitors can explore the natural beauty of the country and see unspoiled Irish woods and rivers.
    We're hoping our family will learn from the visitors about their country, their traditions and maybe some of their native dishes.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Depending on the time of year we need help with different things. There's always a fence to be painted or repaired, a vegetable bed to be weeded, an area getting overgrown that's in need of love. Generally, we're looking for some help with gardening: weeding, digging, , turning compost, watering etc; But we always need help with general maintenance too: fencing, painting cleaning and organising sheds and garage; occasionally a bit of babysitting and some light house chores. It really all depends on the season.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Spanish, German, and French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The travellers will have a bedroom with its own bathroom in the house, it's a large room with three beds (two double one single) and depending on how many people are staying the room maybe shared or may not. We eat together, family style. We provide all the food but encourage visitors to choose a night and cook a favourite dish or a dish traditional to their country or region that everyone can share.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There's a bus service to the local towns and villages of Wicklow town, Laragh, and Gleneally. From there you can get to Dublin etc. The Wicklow mountains offer terrific hikes, scenery, biking trails.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 424872921366